We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and service despite hotel in need of some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent two nights here on a romantic weekend for two - ie without the kids! The staff is the hotels outstanding asset, all staff were exceptionally friendly, friendly and courteous despite the same issues coming up again and again.
We checked into our room (5) about 1730 and found that the shower door had come of it's runners unfortunately they had no maintenance staff available but the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful trying to fix it but unfortunately made it worse! A little disappointed that we couldn't shower before going out for the evening (the hotel was full) the receptionist promised to sort something out for our return. On our return she gave us a choice of two rooms as their occupants had not checked in. To our great disappointment the next morning there was no hot water at all!!! We told the new receptionist at breakfast and apparently this is a regular occurrence but at soon as we told them they said they could turn the water back on. Ken, I have noticed you respond to comments - why not put a note in the bathrooms/info book to say that sometimes the boiler trips out, please inform reception if you have no hot water and it can be rectified immediately. I spent a great deal of time waiting for hot water to come through due to the lack of a shower the previous evening before giving up when I could have simply telephoned reception.
Secondly we were attracted to the hotel partly due to the free WIFI - this was very poor and as an independent tour guide rely on an internet connection for my business, A great deal of time was wasted trying to connect, I live in France so could not afford to incur significant roaming charges which I did as the WiFi in the hotel was so bad. To be fair the staff did reset the router several times but connection was intermittent at worst.
I suggest you turn down the heating as the hotel was seriously hot and the money saved could be invested in a new boiler and new internet connection.
Overall, the staff were excellent as they dealt professionally with reoccurring difficulties through no fault of their own, please address these issues otherwise you are in danger of losing your outstanding staff. For a Best Western I was very disappointed in the standard of the hotel. I appreciate you are undergoing an upgrade but in the meantime perhaps consider charging less for the rooms not yet renovated.

Room Tip: Room 5 is spacious with a four poster bed however no bath (shower only)and on main road so very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgundyGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear BurgundyGuide

Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is through our guest’s comments that we can improve on our standards and level of service we provide.

Although you enjoyed your stay I was sorry to learn that you experienced some issues, these have been rectified and hopefully future guests will not have a repeat.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and rest assured we genuinely care and will act upon them

Many thanks and kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked a mini break and had a fabulous stay. The room was good size double very clean and comfy. The staff were really helpful. Spa was really relaxing - even the ice bit! Knaresborough nice little area and the hotel is well situated for a short walk to the local shops and a castle ruin which was stunning. The Dower House had a very friendly atmosphere. The real fires in the bar and living room area made it very welcoming. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Louise G

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we genuinely appreciate it.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I would just like to compliment the staff after our trip to imagine spa. We did not stay at the hotel, just used the spa. We were a group of 11 females ranging from the age of 20-54 years old. We payed for the half day hen party but it was catered for a 21st birthday. The staff could not have been more helpful especially Kerry, she was brilliant. I hassled her all day and nothing was a problem. Everything ran smoothly thanks to the team and every one who came enjoyed there treatments. We also ate here, I wouldn't say food was amazing but was lovely and well priced! The way the team organised us all made it feel we had enough time in the spa, enough time drinking and eating without feeling as though we were waiting around for treatments!! The only downfall I would say (nothing to do with the staff) would be the pool area needed a lick of paint a little tlc to the area would help the experience! Thanku again to kal the staff!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Pip112013

Thank you for visiting Imagine Spa at the Dower House recently and for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your day, we are very lucky to have a great team here at the Dower House Hotel & Spa positive feedback gives us all a real buzz. You have made Kerry's day by giving her a special mention.

We will be attending to the ceiling in the pool hall early January.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a really enjoyable 2 days at the hotel, very friendly, local staff and very good food. Breakfast was cooked to order which is a great bonus, dinner very good indeed. We had the large room 28 which was just above the spa and pool, handy if you intend to use it. Our only problem was that we couldn't get wifi in the room although we were offered a booster cable, and one of the staff turned it on/off to try and improve it. Wifi was very patchy throughout the hotel, if you were working then it would be a real problem. Hotel was in a good position for Harrogate, just a short drive away. There was one room with access from a disabled parking spot outside the door. Small bar area but a good sized lounge with open fire. It looked like some of the hotel had been refurbished, but parts were quite shabby particularly the corridors and carpets.

Room Tip: Room 28 is a very large room at the end of a corridor and close to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rauma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Rauma

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We have not long returned from a lovely stay at The Dower House. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. We made good use of the Spa and both myself and my husband had a treatment, my deep tissue massage has to be the best massage I have ever had. We ate in the Storm restaurant on the evening there was plenty to choose from on the menu and the food was really nice. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic I had a full English and the portion was huge, a great way to start the day. I would highly recommend this hotel for a lovely little spa getaway.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Kerry F

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback, we genuinely appreciate your kind comments, I have passed on to all the team.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we all wish you well on the arrival of the lttle one.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked this hotel with Tesco vouchers and asked if we could pay the extra to upgrade when we arrived at the hotel,no problem.When we booked in we found we had been upgraded to a superior room free of charge! The room,28, was at the end of the corridor and was light and airy with a huge bed and a lovely modern bathroom. It was very warm and we had to use a book to prop open the sash window but that was fine.
The only slight niggle was that the Spa was below our room and there were treatment rooms opposite ours but this wasnt an issue as everyone was quiet but it was noisy first thing in the morning as the staff opened up for the day and again last thing at night.
The breakfast was great,freshly cooked to order with lots of cereals,fruit and toast,the staff were really helpful and service was very quick.
The bar area had a log burner and very comfortable chairs and daily newspapers.We didnt have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment.
The hotel is very close to the train station and you can easily get to Harrogate or York but Knaresborough itself is a delight with good pubs and a couple of superb restaurants, can really recommend 'Carriges' especially the early bird menu which was fantastic! So much so we went twice!
We are looking forward to staying at the Dower House again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caznsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear caznsteve

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at the Dower house hotel because I needed to be near Harrogate but not pay Harrogate prices. I checked in early at 12.00pm with no extra charge. We had a little afternoon Tea (Tea and scones) the scones were divine! After the scones we headed to the spa were we relaxed for a while the cleanliness of the spa was 2nd to none!
After having a big night out in Harrogate we got back to the hotel and were greeted by night staff that were very friendly and happy to chat.
Breakfast was great and the checkout receptionist was very efficient.

Room Tip: We had a room near the spa which was handy if your going to want to use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Robert E

Thank you for staying with us and your review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Knaresborough and that the night porter was very friendly & chatty, he will be delighted he has helped to ensure your stay was enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dower House & Spa in the near future.

Regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,078 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,763 reviews
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
653 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bond End, Knaresborough HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dower House & Spa is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out. Award winning Storm Restaurant offers a seasonally changing menu and daily specials that you can enjoy overlooking the terrace gardens. You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing