We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short leisure break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
A Best Western traveller
1
Reviewed 25 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A Best Western traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

very well equipped hotel in nice surroundings. Great facilities with adjoining gym, spa and pool also opened to the public - and very popular with the too!
Room was very comfortable, didn't use the restaurant as there are other good options locally but the breakfast was ideal.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Derek M

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

With kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Staff friendly and very helpful, food gorgeous, we had an upgrade to luxury room - clean, attractive and spacious, spa small but everything you would expect from a spa with again helpful, friendly staff on hand. We have thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights, walking, shopping, eating and spa-ing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennieemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear jennieemms

Thank you for your feedback, we genuinely appreciate your kind comments, I have passed on to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We're just home after a short stay at the Dower House. It is utterly charming. The staff were superb; so efficient, so friendly! The room was very clean, spacious and welcoming. Whilst the bathroom was a touch dated, it was clean and roomy with plenty of soft towels and complimentary toiletries. The dining area was warm and suitably lit for an intimate evening meal (and the food was absolutely delicious!) at breakfast the same room was bright and airy with a varied breakfast buffet. We had a great, perfectly cooked breakfast whilst enjoying the morning papers and a pleasant view over the garden. We didn't take advantage of the bar area but can state that it look SO cosy with its wood burning stove. We can't wait to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear RMPK

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Knaresborough and that you found the staff superb, efficient, and friendly, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dower House & Spa in the near future.

Regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After a quiet Christmas, on Boxing day!!, we decided to book a hotel for a few days over the New Year. We used a lateroom booking site, and found Dower House hotel in Knaresborough. Knowing the town and area as we regularly visit Yorkshire we took a chance and booked for 4 nights. What a welcome we had by Ken the manager and his reception staff. He even contacted us before our visit to see if we wanted to have a table for the Gala New Year dinner. They were friendly from the start. The hotel also has a spa attached which we used including Spa treatments. Initially we had reservations re the dinner as we felt it was quite pricey, but after eating in the restaurant the first evening we took the plunge and reserved a table for New Year!
What a night! The attention to detail was brilliant, welcome drinks canapes, a super meal followed on by a disco. We danced to the small wee hours. What FUN!!
The hotel staff were clearly very well trained and lead from the front by Ken, they were professional at all times but friendly too. We would have no hesitation booking in the future! Well done Dower house and Happy new year to you all!!

Room Tip: If there is a do on,in the dining room don't have the room over the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Diana N

It was a pleasure having you join us for the New Year celebrations.

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

From all of us here at The Dower House, Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely


Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were part of a small party of adults who had stayed here for the last three or four years for the New Year package, and we had stayed here with them for the first time last year.
Last year's stay at some £350 each was quite disappointing: problems with the room heating/hot water, shabby rooms, poor views which they can't really do much about, and poor New Year entertainment. For example we went to play games after a very nicely cooked and presented meal as the disco entertainment was poor to terrible, and only came back to the restaurant to see New Year in after which, like most others there, we went to bed at 12.30. To be fair the manager was poorly and away from the hotel so someone stood in but even so the rooms our party used (superior and ordinary) needed updating and a overhaul as did the disco.
This year was as different again and points to note were an updated room with good quality and nice décor, no damage to fittings and adequate room facilities. Public areas were comfortable with real log fires and nice walks by the river, into town and a good bus service to Harrogate. On the down-side our room shower needed more power and fitting independently of others on the landing, there was initially no soap or shower cap and the beds (disappointingly two doubles pushed together rather than a king size) was soft and lumpy with only two standard sized pillows per person. The manager personally welcomed arriving guests and was very visible and accessible the whole time, the food was superb although like many hotels there was too much of it and we were disappointed not to eat it all as it was so tasty, the disco DJ entertainment was the best I've experienced for many, many years - he had the guests dancing from the first record to past 1.30 when we went to bed shattered!
Even local people had booked to attend the New Year event so that means a lot to me. We've booked 5 rooms and another guest re-booked 18.
The staff from room service to bar to restaurant were superb as they were last year. Training prep-talks were done before each evening meal, welcome reception drinks and canapés, mulled wine, home-made shortbread, clematines and lunch time meal-deals - fantastic!!
Well done 'team Dower House' and we'll see you for New Year later this year. Best Western - get some new beds and better showers please to support the hard work your hotel staff do to please customers and bring them back year on year!

Room Tip: We've only had rooms in the 20 - 26 part of the hotel so can't say really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Tim C

It was a pleasure having you join us for the New Year celebrations this year and indeed back to the Dower House.

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

From all of us here at The Dower House, Happy New Year and we very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Ken Hardy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
291 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
3,024 reviews
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bond End, Knaresborough HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range: £66 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dower House & Spa is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out. Award winning Storm Restaurant offers a seasonally changing menu and daily specials that you can enjoy overlooking the terrace gardens. You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing