We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anniversary”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through tesco vouchers for our wedding anniversary and we were very pleased with hotel.Our room was lovely and very spacious nothing at all to complain about room lovely,breakfast was one of the best we have had (the sausage was Gorjus) staff were very helpful with anything we asked a very delightful young girl on reception wen we arrived who told us how to get to train station and the type of ticket to ask for.The spa was sensational nice relaxing time x

Would like to say a big thank you to dower house for making our anniversary that bit more special for us xxx

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gazza30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear gazza30

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us. We delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

From us all here at the Dower House we wish you a very happy anniversary and very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    191
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
94
298
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We only booked the night before we went, choosing this hotel because of availability, price and the fact it has a Spa. Check in was from 3pm but we arrived early as wanted to look around the town so called at reception just to let them know our car was in the car park but we were going to be residents. The receptionist was on the phone, from the conversation it was clearly a wedding party enquiry, and we stood waiting for 10 minutes (literally!) and she didn't even raise her head to acknowledge us so we gave up and went exploring, not a very good first impression! When we returned later on, no hassles regarding the car and the check in was fine and friendly. The hotel is very old and this is evident throughout from rickety floors which creak and bow in places to the tired state of the rooms, well certainly the one we stayed in anyway. Basic, clean but very small with 70's style tiling in the bathroom. The shower looked about as old as the hotel and water just dribbled out, should have showered in the Spa! It's been a long time since we stayed in a hotel which still has the old Yale key lock as opposed to modern key cards, for example. We booked a time for the restaurant when we checked in and booked for breakfast, receiving a good discount for breakfast with booking in advance! The Spa was also tired but sufficient for a small hotel and we spent a couple of hours lounging by the tiny pool but enjoyed free use of sauna, steam room,jacuzzi and foot spas, sadly for me there was no availability for any beauty treatments as were all booked up. When we were choosing a hotel to stay at, the dinner menu was important as we wanted a romantic and special meal and the Dower A la carte menu promised to deliver according to the website but we were offered only a small printed piece of paper to choose from which was all they had. We did enquire regarding the a la carte but the foreign waiter told us there was only this menu other than the bar menu which was very disappointing although the food was very delicious when delivered. Bar prices were reasonable but wine and water with the meal a tad expensive in comparison. When in our room, which was clearly above the dining room and bar area, we could clearly hear the music playing so if there's a function on, I imagine sleep might be at a premium! Every time someone walked past our room, every floor board creaked and groaned and we could clearly hear next door moving about their room, plugging things in etc, at least we couldn't hear what they were talking about! The hotel was fine, nothing special in my opinion but ideally situated for a mooch around Knaresborough and fabulous if you want to visit Mother Shipton's cave, literally a couple of minutes walk away. Breakfast was lovely, the usual cereals, fruit etc and then a menu of cooked items to choose from. Check out was good, we'd been charged twice for breakfast but as soon as we pointed this out, the bill was amended without issue. To summarise, a small, old and tired hotel which serves lovely food. Good for an overnight stay if on a budget....would I stay again, no I'm afraid I don't think I would although would dine in their restaurant without hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view but with this being a small hotel, this was just of the small garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear WendyM6

Thank you for your feedback which we genuinely appreciate and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations in some areas.

I am investigating the points you raised as we are committed to "getting it right " for all our guests.

Our new Chef has joined us and a new A la carte menu will be up and running very soon, we are delighted you enjoyed the food while with us.

Thank you for your comments

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Excellent Service, Good Company and outstanding food, the leisure centre added to the break as did the Log Fires, Afternoon Teas and general ambiance of the hotel.
We have visited before and will return,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear 201Ian

It was our pleasure having you join us for the New Year celebrations.

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.

From all of us here at The Dower House Hotel & Spa, Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed on Valentine's night 2014. Excellent service by the staff. Great location just a short walk to town. Breakfast good too. We will be returning in the summer as the outside areas looked really nice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear timclay,

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, Knaresborough is fantastic in the summer months.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I stopped on Friday and Saturday at this hotel. The hotel had great facilities, room very nice and comfortable the staff were nice and polite and catered to your every need. Food great try the fish and chips.

10 out of 10 rating from me
Would recommend this hotel to anybody

David and Judith

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear david n

Thank you for your kind comments, I have passed to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frog in Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice old inn style outside. Pity that the inside is not matching the outside. Room very basic and badly decorated. Beds horrendous. TV not working. Bar with very little choice. Food not to bad. We will not return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank jean-lukio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear jean-lukio

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and our own online survey, I am sorry that I didn't get the opportunity to speak to you whilst you were at the hotel to resolve your issues whilst you were here.

I have emailed you personally and look forward to discussing your stay with us.

We are committed to "getting it right " for all our guests. I do hope you will return at some point where we can demonstrate our true capabilities.

Best wishes

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,534 reviews
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing