We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel That Lives Up to its Name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Hotel That Lives Up to its Name”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights in this hotel, the one saving grace is the helpful reception staff and very cheery and pleasant cleaning staff.

Having booked in, I was allocated a single room that can best be described as extremely tired and need of a lot of TLC. The pillows on the bed were either low quality or extremely old as they offered no support what so ever. The room was hot and stuffy and the bed uncomfortable, after a terribly bad nights sleep I attempted to work the shower in the morning, I could not get it to work.

Having spoken to the reception desk, I asked to be moved, this was arranged by the time I returned that evening. The new room was better and although not the standard I would expect of a large hotel group (bath sealant not fixed correctly), it was a huge improvement on my original.

Breakfast each morning was a source of amusement, as on each occasion something that was asked for was not delivered, it was akin to a scene from Faulty Towers, with a plethora of staff hanging around but never quite getting it right (I suggest the management allocate one of them to help the busy reception staff).

The public areas of the hotel are extremely tired with the large sitting room adjoined to bar which smells of cat urine and has furniture which is uncomfortable and extremely old. There are a number carpets that require replacing as they are a trip hazard, there is also uneven flooring in several places.

This was not the experience I hoped for and certainly will not be returning!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TA, as I said whilst speaking on the telephone this week, all your comments have been fully taken on board and we are all working hard to ensure that your experience is not repeated, once again please accept our sincerest of apologies and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    191
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
93
296
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, comfy,clean room, though a bit small. Breakfast was good, we went for the full English.The staff were all very friendly and welcoming throughout our visit. Spa and gym worth a visit. Enjoyed our stay and we would recommend for sure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maargarert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words, we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here for a 2 night break with my wife joanna daughter verona and my friend dave.would like to thank all the staff and manger nick to a home from home stay and special thank you to megan on the front desk excellent customer service skills a credit to your hotel. hope to return again soon thanks again. ian kenyon

Room Tip: we stayed in 22 23 both your fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TA, it's lovely to receive such feedback and we are all most grateful, we look forward to your return,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here when attending a friends birthday do. The event itself was fab and the staff did a great job. The bedroom we stayed in was fine, nice and clean, though not very big despite being a superior double. There was a kettle and an array of complimentary hot beverages and packets of biscuits in the room,always welcome.
The hotel could do with a bit of redecorating in some areas but on the whole its ok.
The thing that struck me the most though was the helpfulness and the friendliness of all of the staff throughout our 2 day stay. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoosysCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your very kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just arrived home after having the best short break in a long time.Staff we're very helpful and the free gym was to high standard.The whole weekend was so relaxing even though it rained it didn't matter as their was so much to do

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your short break with us and we delivered to your expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully when the sun is shining,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at The Dower House at 3pm for our weekend away. We requested a sandwich from the bar, but although food is advertised as being available all day, we were told that the chef took his break from 3pm and food in any form was not available. The information book says "a cold sandwich menu, tea and coffee and other beverages are available from the reception team between 2pm and 6pm". Not so, we had to go up into the town in the rain in search of a café.
Our room was large and the bed was comfortable and clean, but the rest of the room was a disappointment. The ledge behind the bed was thick with dust, the door of the bathroom had a lock which was ingrained with dirt and dust, the grey toilet was stained, the skirting boards were only cleaned in parts.
The breakfast is basic. Cereals consist of only small packets of ricicles, cornflakes, special K and All Bran. If you want muesli, take your own. There are a couple of croissants, danish rolls and cheese and fruit and juices. A little jar of marmalade on our table was not fresh and had been opened and used before. The full English is ok, but if you ask for poached eggs they come hard boiled. This happened twice to us, but we were given fresh ones when we complained.
We were told that there was a problem because there was presently only one chef, and this was causing difficulties with service.
The saving grace for us was the spa and gym. It is well kept and a real bonus. However, we were not told that on bank holidays it does not open until 10am. This is ridiculous as checking out time is 11am. This means that on the morning of our last day we were unable to use the spa, a disappointment.
On the plus side, the staff are very pleasant, and the hotel has great potential. It is in a great position for visiting Knaresborough.
Whether it is worth the £140 a night we paid is debatable. I'm afraid we have stayed in much better rooms for similar and even less money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24. It was a quiet room, well positioned, but badly in need of refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello, and many thanks for submitting your review on TA, firstly may I take this opportunity to apologise for the shortfalls that you encountered, I will be calling you shortly to discuss your comments further,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,490 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing