We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills Dower hotel Knaresborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No frills Dower hotel Knaresborough”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

No frills ! Expensive for what you get ! Dont go !!!!
Staff indifferent
Smells
Dirty ! Beds need replacing
Painting general maintenance very very poor ! We were charged for 2 slices of toast and too expensive for the basic accommodation
In short the worst Best Western iv ever stayed at !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    191
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
93
296
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Firstly - i am sure Dower House is a lovely hotel, its just a pity our experience wasn't great. We booked a room through booking.com which was on special, and when we checked in found we were in a disabled access room, might explain why the room was on special.

The room was fairly basic, but it was also directly adjacent to the carpark, and right next to the entrance to the reception. So our room looked directly onto the carpark which meant it was noisy, we got headlights shining into our room whenever someone drove in, and lots of noise from people walking into reception. We also got noise from the room above which happened to have a young family staying in there at the time. That's not anyone's fault, but it meant we had lots of running around and footsteps above us also.

Despite the receptions assurances, we also did not get wifi access in our room, and had to sit in reception to get coverage.

I'm sure the other rooms are lovely, the hotel was otherwise in a good location not far from the centre of town, and Knaresborough is a beautiful town. But our room was ordinary at best, and even though it was on special, wasn't all that cheap for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Many thanks for your recent feedback, your comments have been fed back to the team and we are all very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, for this we sincerely apologise,

We do hope that you would consider the Dower house in future for us to demonstrate our true capabilities as we really do care about all of our guests

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Although a little late I must say we had a fantastic valentines stay at the Dower House Hotel. The room we were allocated was huge with its own living room. The gym and spa facilities were brilliant, as was the dinner. We had a lovely chat with the chef afterwards in the bar. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay, we even enquired about staying an extra night but unfortunately they were fully booked. Thank you for a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello and thank you for such lovely feedback, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us over the valentines period, and we look forward to you returning to the Hotel in the future,

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arriving on a Friday afternoon for a two night stay we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist & check in was straight forward. On arriving at our room I should of demanded a different room or left the hotel but we were due to meet friends & don't know the area, the room at a cost of £243.00 room only for two nights was a joke there was mould on the ceiling the wallpaper was peeling off, the bottom of the bath was badly stained the blinds were broken so light drenched in from a very early hour, the sofa had a loose cover throw type thing on it cheap & nasty but the cover was only there to hide a badly stained sofa, which begs the question why not just remove the sofa? the water was never more than lukewarm & the shower was more of a trickle than a shower. That night we ate in the hotel restaurant the starters were ok no more but the lamb main course was quite the most horrible thing I have ever tasted, upon my complaint I was told that the waiter was 'surprised' because he had sold 8 portions & no-one else had complained. On retiring that evening the bed was completely worn out on one side the springs had gone, so using a spare duvet I rolled it up to give the mattress some lift. On leaving the hotel on Sunday I told the receptionist all my complaints to which she advised me that the manager wasn't there but she would get him to ring me & confirmed my HOME telephone number, the manager did ring 20 minutes after we left we live 2 hours away & were not travelling by rocket. As a business couple we have fitters working all over the country & have used Best Western Hotels many times & never had a problem as bad as this but we will think twice about using the company again, in short the hotel is very very tired & desperately needs a little bit or a lot of love, an expensive depressing place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 541joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to discuss your experience further with me this week, I do hope that I have restored your faith in the Dower House and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Kindest of regards,

Nickj Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binningup, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a very comfortable stay in this hotel and spa very close to the centre of Knaresborough.
We were lucky enough to be there during the annual bed race and had a great view of the fun from the garden of the hotel. There is plenty of parking space and it is only a short walk to the market place, the River Nidd and Mother Shipton's cave and other attractions. Harrogate is a very short drive or train ride (8 minutes) away. The hotel, spa facilities and restaurant are fine and the cost is reasonable - use of the spa facilities is included. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ASk for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel during the bed race weekend, which was truly amazing, and we do hope to see you again very soon,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for a weekend at the hotel. Reception staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and chatty - no complaints at all. The room was clean and had everything needed, although no little extra touches, bearing in mind that the cost was quite expensive. Bed comfortable and had a good night's sleep. Shower very disappointing, not much water pressure at all. Breakfast was adequate, although, again, nothing special. We did eat in the restaurant one night which was absolutely lovely and 2 course meal was good value for money as everything was well cooked and tasty. Hotel is in the centre of Knaresborough so nice and handy for town centre, pubs etc. The hotel is next to a busy road but could not hear this from our room so did not interfere with our stay. Overall, hotel was good and met all of our needs. It is a three star hotel and I would agree with this, however, feel that it was a bit pricey for a bed and breakfast rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyB632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello, and many thanks for feedback on TA and for your lovely comments regarding the staff here, may I take this opportunity to offer my apologies regarding the pressure of your shower, this is an issue that has been identified and will be rectified shortly, your feedback is vital to us as we genuinely do action any issues that are reported to us, once again many thanks and we do hope to see you return in the future,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing