We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at the Dower House Hotel. When we first arrived there was ample car parking and the hotel has a great location. The welcome was excellent and our room was very clean and tidy, ideal for what we wanted. We ate in the Restaurant and found the food to be well presented and very tasty. The breakfast the following morning was excellent also. We had a swim and used the spa. The hotel was ideal for a relaxing night away. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duke99hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, your kind words really are appreciated by all of the staff, we are delighted that we met your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming back in the very near future,

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    191
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
94
297
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was brought up in Knaresborough and when I decided to introduce its charms to two friends I booked the Dower House as the hotel of choice. How disappointing then, to find that it has continued its decline and has now reached the point where I won't be booking again unless it changes hands or gets a serious refurbishment.
Tiny, shabby rooms for £124 per night with showers that are luke warm and don't deliver water with any power. Breakfast staff on day two who were badly trained, if trained at all (day one in fact had excellent staff). There was a big and unbelievably noisy wedding going on there on Saturday. Seriously, when we went into our room at about 8.00pm the floor was moving up and down to the rhythm of the music from the room below. This went on until midnight, and didn't really matter to us (we went out) but if we'd been there on a quiet romantic weekend for instance….
This may be how Best Western maximise the profit from this hotel but if I knew such an event was on when my booking was made, I would not have booked (this may be slightly unfair as I booked through a booking site, and I realise mixing ordinary guests and wedding parities is tricky)
The dower House is in a fantastic location and should be a fantastic hotel. I will return when it achieves that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We thank you for your recent review on TA, your comments are disappointing although we do take them very seriously. The Hotel is in the process of heavy investment including all bedrooms, the showers have been rectified. I do hope that you will one give us the chance to demonstrate our true capabilities to you and we would very much look forward to your return,

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend in Knaresborough. The hotel is very well placed for the exploration of this great town and the surrounding area. But it's very hit and miss. I see from some previous reviews that showers have been an issue for a while and that this is being attended to. But when? Very disappointingly appointed bathroom, with a shower that was very hard to turn on and off with lukewarm water and very little pressure - it's very dated indeed and the toilet was badly cited in the room. Some staff are fabulous; reception very helpful and friendly. Staff at (very nice) breakfast on Saturday couldn't do enough for us yet on Sunday those on duty seemed unsure of where things were and had to be asked for everything; showing a lack of certainty and expertise. The hotel is tired and the improvement programme needs to be escalated. The garden looks very run down and much more could be done with it. One very worrying element of our stay was that returning to the hotel during the day we found a door key unavailable because housekeeping had it, suggesting only one key per room is available with no pass keys for staff. Given the price per night (£124 inc. breakfast) I expected much more. Poor value for money I'm afraid and I would be very unlikely to return. Good bar though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamhmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello, and thank you for for your feedback, your comments have been highlighted and with our continuous refurbishment plans the showers have now been rectified, however the gardens have had extensive work on them recently and are looking in much better shape and will continue to do so, your comments are so important to us and for this I thank you, we do hope that you will return in the future,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed at the Dowerhouse on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The Hotel is ideally situated for touring the local area and only minutes from a lovely walk along the river. This is an old building so we don`t expect or want anything modern, it has an excellant car park and a lovely garden to sit in and enjoy the sunny weather. We are always happy with our bedroom, never having the same room twice and recently stayed for 2 nights, on arrival and busy unloading our car a very polite and helpful young man came and offered help with our luggage which was a very good start to our stay. Reception staff always greet us well, as do all the staff. We always have a good breakfast, there is lots to choose from and although we are fussy eaters we always find that we have a choice on the dinner menu. On our recent visit our family came down from near Middlesbrough to join us for dinner and we all enjoyed a lovely evening, the waiting staff were very attentive and looked after us really well. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puntoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Dower House, and we are more than looking forward to your return,

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walall
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at Dower House for two nights during the Tour de France.
My partner had stayed there before but did not know he had been upgraded to a superior room with generous dimensions so we were disappointed by our tiny room. No light shades on the bedside lights and they were uplights so it made reading impossible. Having spotted several minuses we asked to be moved and got another tiny room but in the main building. The room was tired to say the least and the mouldly silicone around the bath and full dribble of the shower did nothing to enhance our overall impression.

Now, I have stayed in Best Western's before and most seem to need some TLC as does Dower House but it would be quite simple to add bedside lampshades - in both rooms. We spoke to the Manager who did his best to appease us and we found him and his staff very pleasant but a Manager can only manage within a budget and Best Western need to be more generous with said funding. It wasn't cheap, the food was adequate but nothing special but the overall experience was made memorable by being able to watch the Tour de France pelaton pass by and see the hoopla that went with it.

Knaresborough and surrounding districts certainly cashed in on the attraction, even a basic sandwich was riduculously expensive in the town but how often do they get the chance to maximise such an opportunity,

I enjoyed the stay ate adequately but this hotel has potential and a young group of staff who could really make it special so come on Best Western - give them some money and let them make the place a landmark in Knaresborough.

Room Tip: Go for a superior because the grade below seems to be 'inferior'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your recent review, it was lovely to meet you and your feedback has been taken on board, your comments regarding the staff is most appreciated, we do hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

No frills ! Expensive for what you get ! Dont go !!!!
Staff indifferent
Smells
Dirty ! Beds need replacing
Painting general maintenance very very poor ! We were charged for 2 slices of toast and too expensive for the basic accommodation
In short the worst Best Western iv ever stayed at !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Firstly - i am sure Dower House is a lovely hotel, its just a pity our experience wasn't great. We booked a room through booking.com which was on special, and when we checked in found we were in a disabled access room, might explain why the room was on special.

The room was fairly basic, but it was also directly adjacent to the carpark, and right next to the entrance to the reception. So our room looked directly onto the carpark which meant it was noisy, we got headlights shining into our room whenever someone drove in, and lots of noise from people walking into reception. We also got noise from the room above which happened to have a young family staying in there at the time. That's not anyone's fault, but it meant we had lots of running around and footsteps above us also.

Despite the receptions assurances, we also did not get wifi access in our room, and had to sit in reception to get coverage.

I'm sure the other rooms are lovely, the hotel was otherwise in a good location not far from the centre of town, and Knaresborough is a beautiful town. But our room was ordinary at best, and even though it was on special, wasn't all that cheap for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saints42, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Many thanks for your recent feedback, your comments have been fed back to the team and we are all very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, for this we sincerely apologise,

We do hope that you would consider the Dower house in future for us to demonstrate our true capabilities as we really do care about all of our guests

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing