We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$105
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Booking.com
US$104
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$105
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
eDreamsUS$104
TravelocityUS$105
Orbitz.comUS$105
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveller rating
346
262
135
82
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
346
262
135
82
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room small pool minute treatment relaxation room wedding reception friendly hotel evening meal old building enjoyable stay short break high standard town centre a lovely stay well worth a visit harrogate jonathan tlc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 872 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We booked the Dower House in Knaresborough for our Masonic function. Our experience was nothing but positive. The food was excellent, piping hot and cooked well. Those guests who stayed were pleased with their rooms and further enjoyed a quality hearty breakfast. All staff were efficient courteous and helpful. I would like to give particular mention and thanks to Jonathan, becca and Alison. You helped make a fantastic evening!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beebrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, General Manager at Dower House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the event and that you were looked after so well from the initial enquiry through to the event.

I will pass on your kind comments to Victoria the chef and also to Becca and Alison.

Please do not be strangers and remember where we are.

Best wishes,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We stayed here for a delightful week in May and the staff were the highlight of this little hotel.

The hotel is located just 10 minutes from Harrogate and its position in Knaresborough near the River Nidd has excellent road connections to all parts of Yorkshire.

The hotel itself is a rabbit warren of rooms on two floors with a spa at the rear.

The facilities are a mixture of good and adequate. All of the common areas, such as the reception, bar, restaurant etc. are all good, but we were a little disappointed with our room.

The room could do with a bit of love and attention - decoration-wise and in the provision of better quality items - the bathroom towels are a top priority!

However, that did not spoil our stay as the staff make you feel very welcome indeed and they made our stay a very happy one.

Particular mention must go to restaurant/bar staff and the lady chef who provided superb cooked breakfasts and wonderful evening meals.

Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forkandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, General Manager at Dower House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

We are continuing with our programme of soft refurbishment and changes are happening all of the time.

Please do come back and see us all again soon.

Best wishes,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We have stayed in a few best westerns and have to say this is the best one so far. The staff were friendly and welcoming remembered the small things you said that think you are more than just a room number. The communal areas are quaint and tidy and the food in the restaurant is lovely. There was an event on the Saturday night but they called a couple of days before to tell us so we didn't mnd. The rooms themselves are dated I don't deny, but they are clean tidy and are reasonable for the price you pay yes they could do with a revamp but for what we paid I was more than happy. Parking was a big plus also as many of the hotels in Harrogate don't have parking. We stayed here and traveld in on the train to harrogate the train station was about 5 minutes. Plenty of nice pubs in Knaresborough to visit as well.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, General Manager at Dower House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments.

The staff do take the time to delight our guests and enjoy your visits.

We have such a lovely hotel at the centre of everything.
Just a stones throw from the town centre, yet far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle.

We all take great pride in our hidden gem and hope that you will visit again soon.

Best wishes,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

This is our 2nd time at the Dower House and, once again, we have enjoyed our 4 night stay.

I was a bit concerned when shown to our room as it was looking out onto a busy road and I'm a very light sleeper, although it was a lovely room. I asked Kitty at reception if we could be moved and exlpained why and she very kindly transferred us to a room at the back of the hotel, well away from any road noise - so a special thank you to Kitty.

Another thank you to Monika who looked after us at breakfast for 3 of the 4 mornings, she was always very attentive and smiley. and also James in the bar who accommodated our rather random meal choice on the Thursday evening with a smile and some good banter!

I feel our room and the hotel overall is a little tired at the moment but, having said that, the room was lovely and clean, toiletries were provided and more were available when we asked, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were very good so what more can you ask.

My overriding comment would be that the staff make this hotel worth the excellent rating - they're all very friendly, polite, professional and accommodating. Next time we stay in Knaresborough we will come back to the Dower House - without a doubt!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank helshug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, General Manager at Dower House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff. I am blessed with having such a fabulous team and they all work so hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay from start to finish.

I will pass on your kind comments to Kitty, Monika, James and the rest of the team who i know will all be ecstatic to hear of your comments.

Please don't be strangers, we enjoy your visits.

Best wishes,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Stayed at the Dower House this weekend and would definitely recommend to anyone. Upgraded to Four-poster on my arrival as it was my birthday. All the staff I met could not do enough to make my stay enjoyable. Special mention to the Reception staff and Davie the night porter.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank franwozere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan S, General Manager at Dower House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel and the team, we are chuffed that you enjoyed your visit and do hope that we get the chance to see you again.

Best wishes,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews