We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & good beer”
Review of The Mitre

The Mitre
Ranked #18 of 74 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good food & good beer”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is third visit to the pub & we have never been disappointed. We found it while been on holiday & went for a day trip recently, & it's as good as we remember. The staff are very friendly always a good selection of real ales & German Beers, we have had both daytime & evening meals & the quality was good both times. All this & dog friendly too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandSue-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    19
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“food and service fab”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

please have a meal here cant fault the food or the service. we had the chicken and it was wonderful. try the different beers if you can

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank julieBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pub food and great range of real ales”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not a huge menu but a large enough selection of bar food and what we had was good quality. The range of real ales was very impressive and keenly priced. Friendly bar staff and a pleasant outdoor area not dominated by smokers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miniboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“might'a missed it!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Tasty veggie food. Tried 3 of the real ales and all of them fabulous. Would go back just for the ales.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly staff/manager”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived by train with a group for a meeting at the Mitre and you could not get any nearer to the station. The manager greeted us and showed us to the area for our meeting. There was plenty of real ale on offer and a good selection of food at a reasonable price. The manager/staff were very friendly even letting us reposition the tables and chairs to suit our meeting. It will probably be regular place on our monthly meetings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pter4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mitre also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to The Mitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing