We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plumpton Rocks

Plumpton Rocks
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I'd driven past Plumpton Rock for years before I actually went in, and I discovered that it's a fantastic hidden gem, so close to Harrogate. Lots of wildlife in a romantic wild landscape with quirky "secret" features hidden away to find...!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    16
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waste of time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Like one of the earlier reviewers we were unable to find our way to the attraction! Very large signs to the attraction from the main road & then nothing! After fruitless drives up lanes to various farmyards we concluded that an old field gate with a sign saying "Closed" must have been the entrance! There was no warning of opening or closing times! This was 2 o'clock on a Wed afternoon! Won't bother going again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Merc350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was taken here on a drizzly day and I loved it. It's full of little hidey holes and the water is beautiful. It's like a little secret escape!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCupcake21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best-Kept Secret - a quiet, private place for exploration and a peaceful walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first visit to Plumpton Rocks, despite having lived in the area for many years. It's a well-kept secret - in some ways like Brimham Rocks on a much smaller scale, but also with the benefit of woodland walks and a beautiful lakeside setting.

This is a privately-owned attraction, so you must expect to pay a small fee for the privilege of visiting. Sure, there are no facilities, but there are no crowds either. There were no printed guides / leaflets, but then you're free to wander, explore and discover some of the hidden secrets there - and there are some.

Definitely worth a visit for a couple of hours, especially if you're in the area already.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank openijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Difficult to find when you leave the main road”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

After a 45 mile drive to go here we never found it. Yes, it's well signposted off the main road and then...nothing. We spent 15 minutes driving up every available driveway or road only to end up at a solo private residence or in a farm yard. 5 farm yards in total. Where are the signs when you turn off the main road? We weren't the only lost car too as other cars were wondering about looking for the entrance. It was beautiful Spring day but walking here wasn't an option for us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PetenCaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plumpton Rocks also viewed

 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Plumpton Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing