We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Lavender Rooms

The Lavender Rooms
Ranked #12 of 75 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you in the Lavender Rooms where you can relax and enjoy a break in an atmosphere full of Olde Worlde Charm.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect setting. Fantastic staff very friendly. Yorkshire portion sizes. Definitely worth it. Keep up the great work. Those cakes are amazing. Julia

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breadcake, Owner at The Lavender Rooms, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    61
    30
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited the tea room on Saturday for afternoon tea using a Groupon voucher. It was very busy as the Bed Race was on through the centre of town so lots were sat outside as it is on the route. We had a lovely bowl of homemade soup to start and a choice of sandwiches . Followed by a very large scone with cream and jam and a lovely piece of cake each. There is a good choice of Teas and Coffee to choose from. We will definitely visit again in the near future .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frances s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breadcake, Owner at The Lavender Rooms, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rude!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just had afternoon tea at Lavender Rooms. Strange concept, this included soup. Even stranger concept, the coffee served with the afternoon tea, apart from being quite dissgusting, was served with the soup! When I emailed to suggest this was not such a good idea I received a rude reply suggesting it was my fault for not requesting it later. Was I given the option? Don't go!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank iandjmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breadcake, Owner at The Lavender Rooms, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Now i have time i feel i should answer the rather unkind comments posted in this review. They are correct they replied through groupon saying dont serve coffee with soup save it for cakes.
I replied saying they could have had there coffee later they just had to tell us.
In excess of 50% of people like there drinks served immediately while waiting for their soup,some like it with their sandwiches,some with cake. One size does not fit all and we do as customers request.
This strange concept was a groupon deal called Spring afternoon tea which included tea/coffee,soup,sandwiches and cakes.Perhaps the purchaser couldnt/didnt read the offer or why refer to it as a strange concept.
We will be starting soon with another strange concept Summer afternoon tea to include strawberries and cream..
What i find offensive is my girls will have checked that your soup was alright for you and no complaint or opinion was expressed at the time.You could have said then the coffee was disgusting/served too early.You would have been asked again later if sandwiches etc were fine again no complaint.You then go to groupon and send me an unpleasant non constructive message.You didnt like the reply so you have come on trip advisor. Where next i ask facebook,twitter.
You paid £4.50 for drink,soup,sandwiches,scone and cake.Would it really have upset you to buy a 2nd coffee.
I am happy with my service and staff.Very happy with my trip advisor certificate of excellence. Happy with my in excess of90% feedback from groupon.
now i am going to be rude,the person i feel most sorry in all of this is the person who has to put up with you every day what a life they must have. now thats rude
thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Took my wife and mother on Groupon offer real Yorkshire sized portions. My mother had a bit of a job getting up the stairs mind you she is 87.We really enjoyed it best description I can think of is friendly staff and robust portions served in a unique setting. Plus soft butter as my pet annoyance is getting butter portions that are rock hard and unable to spread. You have to give it a try and dont forget there is a really good market on a Wednesday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vwdevondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breadcake, Owner at The Lavender Rooms, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great traditional afternoon tea”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant afternoon tea or lunch, quaint little place above the old chemist's shop (now a gift store). The food, drink and service were all good. If you visit Knaresborough, you must try the Lavender Tea Rooms at least once.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breadcake, Owner at The Lavender Rooms, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Regards Maurice and Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lavender Rooms also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to The Lavender Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing