We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B”
Review of Kirkgate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirkgate House
Ranked #3 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night just to relax and spend some time in Yorkshire.

Karen is so welcoming and friendly - we felt at comfortable as soon as we walks through the door. The B&B is beautifully decorated (plus we had a great night's sleep) parking is easy and the breakfast delicious.

Definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area. Thank you and see you again soon!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank teaanddigestive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed in the courtyard cottage for 2 nights. What a lovely find. When we originally booked we were going to take our Jack as it is dog friendly ,but due to a last minute change of plan we ended up not bringing him. Karen is lovely, very warm and welcoming and happy to help in whatever way. The cottage is beautiful and clean and has everything you could need. We were situated so close to the centre of Knaresborough that everything was in easy reach in fact we walked everywhere ,leaving the car parked as it was all so easy. We had a lovely stay and will definitely return as we know we will have as good a stay next time. This is a place to try as you won't find better!

Room Tip: Ask Karen to provide breakfast in the cottage if you don't want to do it yourself as she is happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed for one night this week. Karen was very welcoming from arrival to departure.

My room was very pleasant with all appropriate amenities. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. All that I ask for really.

I had a decent nights sleep followed by a great (large) breakfast.

Overall, I think this B&B represents excellent value and it is very well located for Knaresborough. I shall return as I've stayed in other locations in Knaresborough and the surrounding area and Kirkgate house is very good.

Well done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s2rmtrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed with my daughter in a twin room. Beautifully decorated and immaculate. Beds very comfortable and a lovely ensuite. Tea/coffee making facilities in room which is always a must for me. Lovely little extras such as alternative teas, chocolate bars and biscuits. There is a delightful little courtyard lit with fairy lights which will be gorgeous when the weather is good enough to sit out while late. The breakfast was lovely and everything was piping hot. Karen and Rob were very warm and friendly. Very close to lovely castle and river walks. Couldn't fault anything. Would love to return and will certainly tell friends about this little gem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Cannot fault this great little b&b. The room was spotless, spacious, and well decorated, with a generous selection on the hospitality tray, which was gratefully received after a long drive. Breakfast was perfect, good choices and very well made. Karen was an excellent hostess, very welcoming and friendly. Will definitely return if we're back in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjamscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I'm so glad we found this little gem! To be honest we were a little nervous as we hadn't stayed in a B&B before.
From Karen's warm welcome when we arrived, to the wonderful full English breakfast, our stay was an absolute delight. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, the hospitality tray had a great selection of drinks, biscuits and even a couple of chocolate bars! The lovely king size bed has to be the most comfortable we've ever slept in away from home. The only down side is the lack of on site parking, but there is a car park at the Castle very nearby (unfortunately, we didn't realise this until we got home, and we had parked at the Town Centre Coach and Car park which seemed to be miles away - especially for the hubby who had the bag to carry!)
All in all, a great base for exploring the area - we hope to be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandmpg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just one night stay but sooo wanted to stay longer.a lovely friendly welcome from Karen,who has a really good eye for decorating .Room was elegant stylish and contemporary with a lovely spacious shower. Breakfast was yummy. We will visit again when time allows. Wishing you every success with the business. P.S bought some glass from Kevin

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,752 reviews
3.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkgate House

Address: 17 Kirkgate, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: £73 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 17th century, Kirkgate House provides guests with a warm Yorkshire welcome. The newly refurbished accommodation retains its quaint and quintessential character while providing clean, comfortable rooms all with generous sized en suite shower rooms. Start your day off with breakfast in the light and pretty dining room, and choose from a traditional English cooked meal, or we are happy to offer vegetarian or vegan options with no compromise on tasty interesting food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kirkgate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkgate House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing