We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Kirkgate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkgate House
Ranked #3 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here a lot earlier this year whilst our daughter was on her OT placement in the town. We were impressed and commend this establishment to you. A warm welcome awaits and the breakfasts were very tasty. Cleanliness is of a very high order. Do stay - you will not regret the choice.

Room Tip: Cottage is self contained and good value for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
91
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay, and loved Kirkgate House. Not least because of its convenient location.
Karen is very friendly and welcoming, and the room was modern and clean. I loved the fact that there was a bar of chocolate each in the room, and, although we didn't use it, I was pleasantly surprised to find an iron and ironing board.
My only slight critisisms are - if we were staying longer, more drawer space would be useful, and I wasn't keen on the veggie sausage. Two very small things.
We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzieqCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked very late and were lucky to get a room. Very warm and welcome reception from Karen, room very clean and comfortable, great touches in the room to make homely and welcoming. After a good nights sleep an amazing breakfast to set you up for the day. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good place to stay if you are looking for a quiet retreat. Karen was really creative in serving us a splendid veggie breakfast during out 3 days stay. She was informative about where to go around Knaresborough. As for our room, very clean with a really powerful shower!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I regret not having booked for longer.
Lovely lady running the B&B - super friendly and helpful on all requests.
Gorgeous fresh breakfast smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a muffin.
Just what you need for a long weekend - amazing large shower.
Beautiful court yard, birds, flowers and sunshine - for a cup of tea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on business and it was an ideal location for exploring Knaresborough.

I was in room 2 which is a twin with views of Knaresborough castle and it was lovely.

Karen the host was very welcoming and a lovely lady, the breakfast in the morning was ample and very tasty.

If I am travelling this way again I will be calling here for sure. I would recommend staying here to all of my friends, colleagues and family.

keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whackerv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here instead of Harrogate this time, lovely family run clean b and b. Excellent breakfast and room hospitality trays, even a couple of bars of chocolate which was nice. Train station just at the bottom of Kirkgate and only £3 return which is far cheaper than the parking would be. Lots to do and see nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBP1961291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkgate House

Property: Kirkgate House
Address: 17 Kirkgate, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 17th century, Kirkgate House provides guests with a warm Yorkshire welcome. The newly refurbished accommodation retains its quaint and quintessential character while providing clean, comfortable rooms all with generous sized en suite shower rooms. Start your day off with breakfast in the light and pretty dining room, and choose from a traditional English cooked meal, or we are happy to offer vegetarian or vegan options with no compromise on tasty interesting food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kirkgate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkgate House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing