We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem of a cottage in a delightful setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of March Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature Fireplace Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Feature Fireplace
Dining Area
Lounge
Dining Area
Lounge
Cottage Exterior
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Kitchen view 1
Kitchen view 2
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Waterside
One of the Carvings on Abbey Road riverside walk
Rear Patio
Front of March Cottage
River Nidd, Knaresborough
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janice F
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Gem of a cottage in a delightful setting”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at March Cottage. The cottage has been refurbished and equipped to a very high standard. It' is very clean and comfortable, a real home from home. We were particularly impressed by the thoughtful extras - tea, coffee, flowers and even Easter eggs for the kids. Jackie is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. The cottage is in a lovely location just a short stroll from the delightful riverside. We would definitely recommend March cottage and hope that we will be able to return there again soon.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
I am please that you and your family enjoyed your Easter break in March Cottage and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards
Jackie D
Property Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverorwe...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Facilities with 1st Class Standards”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The property feels welcoming and homely. Jackie, the owner, is friendly, helpful, caring and efficient. The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard of build quality. It is spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable and worry free. A minor problem occurred with the heating, but that was put right immediately and effectively. It is a credit to Jackie that she looks after her guests so well. Things can and do go wrong - that's not important. What counts is how problems are dealt with. Jackie passed with flying colours!!
We will definitely be going back to this delightful cottage. We'll will need to book early though. It will get very busy, once it has been experienced by more guests. They will be recommending it to others!!!
We came up to enjoy the superb local fly fishing waters. There's even a shed in the courtyard to dry out our waders. In summary - great fishing, great area, great cottage and great owner. - Well Done and Thank You Jackie - we'll be back.!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standards
Liked least: Having to leave it at the end of the break
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am a great believer that you treat people how you would like them to treat you. We acknowledge in these days of recession, holidays and breaks are very important to people and with that in mind, we try to make our guests time in March Cottage and the beautiful town of Knaresborough a memorable experience. Regards Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewand...
Teesside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable, and well-equipped cottage in an ideal location.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked for two weeks initially, but extended for a further nine days. Would happily have stayed longer if we could. Plenty of useful shops nearby, and lots to explore in Knaresborough. Jackie provides lots of little extras; shower gel, shampoo, washing powder, coffee, even biscuits!
Very good value. thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Knaresborough and were also very happy with the facilities offered in March Cottage. Perhaps we will see you or your family again in the future. Regards Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being near the Railway Station
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Pleased to hear you had a cosy winter break in March Cottage. Thank you for your kind comments and the historic information of the cottage. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Martyn C
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“March Cottage at Christmas 2013”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

It was a nice surprise to have milk, tea and biscuits left waiting for us when we arrived; this made the need to visit the local shops less urgent; especially after our long journey - thanks. Having Jackie (landlady) living close by made the handover/takeover easy and was helpful to know where everything was in the cottage.
The cottage was perfect for our stay, being very close to family in the local area. We had Christmas Dinner at the cottage and everything went smoothly.
We are now considering when we will book again - perhaps Christmas next year!
This holiday let is one of the better ones we have used.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location - very comfortable - everything we needed was there
Liked least: Weather - but itwas winter!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in March Cottage.We do provide a small welcome pack and flower to make our guests holiday experience memorable and it is nice to know that it is appreciated. Hope to welcome you again in the future.Regards, Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceymcc...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous New Year break in this cosy little cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a lovely stay in March cottage over New Year. It has recently been totally renovated and is a credit to the owners. It has everything you would need for a perfect holiday away and lots of lovely little extra touches. Knaresborough itself is a great place to stay too with lots of great independent shops, pubs and places to eat. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone - wonderful!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
We are please you enjoyed the New Year in Knaresborough and that the work carried out on March Cottage made your stay relaxing and comfortable. Hope to see you again when you decide to revisit North Yorkshire. Regards Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandke...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely, newly refurbished cottage set in an Idealic location, on the Riverside in Knaresborough, close to all amenities and great pub just across the bridge.
The Cottage is decorated to a very high standard, has everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing self catering holiday.
During our stay we had friends stay overnight and there was plenty of room in the cottage for all of us.
Knaresborough has a lot to offer, pleasant walks along the river, plenty of individual shops in the town. Great train link to Harrogate, York etc just up the road from the cottage.
Would recommend this cottage for the perfect holiday, and place to tour North Yorkshire from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peaceful Tranquil location, closeness to local pub and town if wanted
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in March Cottage and pleased that the attractions of Knaresborough and surrounding areas add to your holiday experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing