We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise of Knaresborough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallon House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallon House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise of Knaresborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I recently took my best friend to Gallon House after reading a review in the Guardian and it was the best choice I ever made! Arrived out of the station to find it on the doorstep and from that moment it was not only beautiful, peaceful, attentive but one of the best meals I have ever had! Rick and Sue our hosts were pleasant, knowlegable and left us to enjoy the house at our pace (after showing us around). The living room has a cosy fireplace and the balcony looks over the River and the Gorge. STUNNING VIEWS.
We had dinner at the House, which included a tart for starter, salmon for mains and poached pears for dessert- can I say DELICIOUS and certainly filled my tummy!
Breakfast again was made to order alongside cereal, muesli, yoghurts, fruits, toast, breads and jam- so much thought but it seemed as though it was effortless (this is how they made it look!)
If your going to the village or even nearby PLEASE stay here- you will never forget it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room and our room overlooked the river! Was lovely and once you go into the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gallon_house, Owner at Gallon House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We enjoyed having you both to stay at Gallon House!
You are welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    12
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I am lost for words, this place is truly amazing. The location idyllic, food is delicious and the host was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I booked this 1 night away for my partners birthday. I had found this hotel last year on browsing the internet with good reviews for staying and eating there. I booked it early so as to not be disappointed and so i had a chance to save up lol. It's not cheap and with the meal and 2 bottles of wine the bill was well over £200 for 1 night but i wanted somewhere special..somewhere we wouldn't forget in a hurry. Firstly...the hotel is lovely, warm, inviting and very bright and airy, knaresborough is a beautiful historic town and the Gallon House was my only choice. Rick allowed us to check in early as we were going walking all afternoon which was nice. We were offered coffee in the conservatory on arrival...nice touch. We were given instructons on were to park for free and having a room over the back we could also see our car from our room. Our room was if i'm honest a little disappointing. I had seen the photos and was indeed looking forward to the spectacular views at the back of the house. We were shown around and were taken on to the balcony downstairs first and i thought wow...top marks but i couldnt mark this hotel ecellent like i wanted to. Our room was at the top of the house and was smaller than i had hoped for and the bathroom was a tad cramped. If you drop the soap in the shower you cannot retreive it. The room i wanted was the one with the balcony and as i had booked early i thought i would have had 1st choice as i was led to beleive no one else was booked in yet that weekend. However not to put a dampener on this review i hadn't asked for the balcony room...i just assumed both rooms at the back both had balconys...i shouldn't assume. Unfortunaltely ours didn't but i thought hey never mind we wont be in much to appreciate it and anyway it's winter so it goes dark early. I would however love to stay again but only in the balcony room over summer. The only thing i would say is for the price we paid you shouldn't have a blown window!!! We could only see out of one window...this to be fair is not acceptable when you pay for that little something extra.
To end on a positive the complimentry refreshments in the room were very good...got my complimentry shower products on leaving as Sue had forgotten to put them in the bathroom, you got bath robes to use and a bottle of black sheep ale to taste. the meal was fantastic and Rick was a very nice guy who did his best to accomodate. We never met Sue so cannot comment on it being a family run business. Maybe i'm getting picky in my old age or watching too much 4 in a bed but i just thought i would be marking this hotel excellent and unfortunaltely i'm not :(

btw for all those reading past reviews...yes it is very close to the railway station but the trains do NOT run late. I am a very light sleeper but they didn't wake me.

Room Tip: Ask fro the balcony room at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SooPoo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gallon_house, Owner at Gallon House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
Gallon House has a a large south facing balcony which overlooks the Nidd Gorge, from which our guests can enjoy drinks and the view when the weather permits.
Additionally, there is one bedroom with a very small balcony- and this is our bedroom...so not available to guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July 2009, and it was perfect. Before arriving we were asked if we wanted to stay for the dinner in the evening however as my husband is allergic to nuts we declined the meal because the menu showed nuts in a few items. I wish we had just told them earlier as they said they would have changed the menu for us.

The breakfast was amazing, I tried the homemade black pudding which I normally hate but it was delicious and I haven't found a black pudding since which matches up to it.

There is a little balcony which you can sit at drinking tea (or something stronger should you desire) which over looks a lovely little river.

We have been saying we want to go back ever since and hopefully this year will be the year we make it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gallon_house, Owner at Gallon House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments- we hope to welcome you again to Gallon House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Me and my husband stayed at Gallon House last night, and it was amazing! We were welcomed in and shown around the house, the sun was setting as we arrived and the views were breathtaking. We both felt instantly relaxed from the moment we walked in, our room was beautiful, spotless, and lots of extra touches which is a nice surprise! We had an amazing evening meal, thank you, we felt totally spoilt. We had planned to have a wander to the local pub after tea, but didn't want to leave so curled up on the sofa in front of the fire for the night with wine and a endless supply of books,mags and music-perfect. Breakfast was also delicious. We will definatly return, and be recommending to our friends. Worth every penny and more.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gallon_house, Owner at Gallon House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments- we are so very glad you enjoyed your stay at Gallon House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

A very comfortable, friendly 3 night stay with an excellent breakfast, beautiful views and convenient for Harrogate, York (train £5ea), Ripley, Ripon and the surrounding area reached either by car, train or bus. We also celebrated our wedding anniversary, on the premises, with a delightful meal, cooked superbly by Rick and accompanied by a difficult choice from good selection of wines.

Room Tip: Best views but small room up 2 flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveVal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Fantastic B&B!Stunning views of the river and viaduct, beautifully restored house and best of all such welcoming hosts. We had a delicious evening meal and breakfast there, a comfortable nights sleep and ous every need was anticipated and met.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fem44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 17 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallon House Hotel

Property: Gallon House Hotel
Address: 47 Kirkgate, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Knaresborough's beautiful Nidd Gorge, Gallon House offers award winning accommodation and delicious locally sourced food prepared by well known Yorkshire chef, Rick Hodgson ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gallon Hotel Knaresborough
Gallon House Hotel Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing