We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newton House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
387
74
16
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
387
74
16
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty bargranolabaked plumsmarmaladeb bcar parkmini barguest houseeggs benedictfull englishhome madebreakfast was excellentsitting roomsmoked haddocklittle toucheslarge roomwide choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having stayed in may hotels over the years this is the first occasion I have wanted to write a review. I was visiting family in Harrogate.but wanted to stay a short drive away. Booked Netwon House and was extremely pleased with my choice. The hotel staff were attentive, polite and very efficient. Stayed in room 4. I can not find anything negative to say about the hotel or the room. Everything was superb. The room was clean, thoughtfully decorated and laid out with many mice touches. Breakfast was first class and worth the visit just for that alone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had a weekend awayfor my birthday and were looking for somewhere affordable and good quality. After trawling through the various sites we came across Newton House, we were not disappointed and the room we had (room 1) was delightful, huge, clean and very comfortable.

Denise was very friendly and the staff at breakfast were fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble and the whole stay we had a great time. Breakfast as stated here was just how you would wish it to be, cooked to order and HOT, unlike some other establishments and tasted delicious! Sets you up for the rest of the day.

Only fly in the ointment - we weren't told on checkin that checkout was from 10.30am on a Sunday. We did have to wait a little while to check out as Denise was cooking breakfast, had we been told when we checked in we would have paid up front. This was not Denise's fault as she was just getting back from a week away herself and someone else checked us in.

We used our stay as a base as we went to Castle Howard and Harlow Carr so great location. Also good location for the town as you are very close to local amenities and do not have to drive anywhere.

All in all we had a very good weekend and would not hesitate to book again if we are in the area. Thanks very much Denise and please pass on our thanks to your staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't want to check out before 10.30am on Sunday unless you have paid on check in.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon-GirlCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed in room 11 which is not in the main hotel but part of a converted stable block. Very nice spacious ensuite room. V comfy bed nicely decorated with lots of nice touches, little sweats, good selection of tea etc. Lots of information about the local area provided. Breakfast was very nice and served by very friendly staff. We had mentioned to Denise that we were vegetarians on arrival and her staff were aware of this at breakfast, a nice professional touch. The fruit and jams at breakfast was homemade and very tasty again a really nice touch !

The hotel is centrally located. It has a small car park.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Denise allows double parking in the car park so if you are in a rush in a morning make sure you know who's blocking you in ! I guess this could annoy some people but i think its better than having to park on street !
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Booked a room here for our wedding anniversary and so glad I did. We were in room 4 and slept in possibly the most comfortable bed ever. So hard to get out of it in the morning! Lovely breakfast with lots of choice. The house itself is delightful and beautifully decorated. Our room was lovely with many nice touches including a mini bar, sweets in a bowl and a digital radio. There is a sitting room for guests with an honesty bar. My husband took advantage of this and bought a couple of nice bottles of beer. The price is added onto the bill. The hotel is a really short walk from town with numerous pubs and bars. There is a Sainbury's very close by to. Harrogate and Skipton are very close as are the Yorkshire Dales where we spent a lovely day. My only slight criticism would be the need for a black out blind as the curtains are quite thin and the room does light up quite early in the morning. This would be especially useful in the summer. Aside from that we loved it and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the back of the house so it was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobnob111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived on Sunday afternoon rather early but Denise was able to accomodate us with minimum fuss even though she had just arrived back from a weekend away herself. Our rooms were perfectly prepared and very comfortable with great attention paid to detail. The shutters were very effective at keeping the noise from the busy road outside to a level which did not disturb us at all.
We had a wide choice for breakfast of well cooked and presented food on both mornings that we were there. We all had different things and were all very pleased with our choices.
We found that the Hotel was well placed for catching trains and for going into town both of which were just minutes away. We would certainly stay there again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scirpaceus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews