We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newton House
Nearby Hotels
Old Royal Oak(Knaresborough)(Great Value!)
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mitre Inn(Knaresborough)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Teardrop Cottage(Knaresborough)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Homestead(Knaresborough)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldsborough Hall(Knaresborough)
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkgate House(Knaresborough)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Waterside Cottage(Knaresborough)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Ebor Mount Guest House(Knaresborough)(Great Value!)
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
388
75
16
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
388
75
16
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty bargranolabaked plumsmarmaladecar parkmini barguest houseeggs benedictfull englishhome madebreakfast was excellentsitting roomsmoked haddocklittle toucheslarge roomwide choiceboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2008

i booked this weekend break for my husband and i and 6 other,good friends, not knowing anything about the hotel i was a bit worried in case i had made a bad choice, i needent have worried as the moment we stepped through the door we was made so welcome, mark lisa and staff are lovely hosts, and the rooms was spotless , the rooms have everything you need from fluffy towels to lovely big beds radio, tv ironing board hairdryer, every kind of tea and coffee, sweets choc biscuits mini bar with reasonable prices. The breakfast was to die for i have never seen so much to choose from we was spoiled for choice, and Knaresbourgh itself is a lovely place and the people was so friendly, we didnt want to come home, so thankyou again mark and lisa, we will be back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sylviaFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Can’t say enough good things about Newton House! My husband and I stayed three nights and couldn’t have been more pleased. Owners Mark and Lisa made us feel welcome the minute we arrived and our large room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Supplied with plush linens and Molton Brown toiletries, the room also contained a digital radio/clock, flat screen television, assorted teas, coffee and a fully-stocked mini-bar. Internet service available as well. The rest of this charming guest house is just as inviting from the main lounge to the lovely dining room. Here we enjoyed an excellent selection of breakfast offerings including the best full English breakfast. All made to order. Oh, and make sure to try Lisa’s homemade marmalade. Not to be missed! Top notch staff - thanks to both Stella and Tom for making our stay special. Oh, and to Cassie the house dog, too. I loved our daily game of fetch. Kudos to Mark and Lisa for hiring such quality staff and for making this a most pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OriginalRecipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

We decided to have a night away with our beloved labradoor and loved Newton House. I'm used to 5 star hotels in my work but this was a real home from home gem. We had a self contained room at the back as we had the dog..but nothing was too much effort. After a late night on the lash we were late for breakfast and I'm so glad we made it as it was one of the best ones I've ever had. Lisa was a very good host and I would highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janemeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2008

Mark and Lisa gave us a very warm welcome to their delightful guest house, which we stumbled across when the A1 was shut north, halting our journey.
The room (with 4 poster bed) was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was bright, airy and exceptionally clean (my only moan was the inconsistency of the hot water when showering).
The owners have obviously thought through every detail, great selection of Molten Brown toiletries, plenty of fluffy towels, games and books in the rooms, DAB radio, free wi-fi, and the best value mini-bar I have ever come across.
Breakfast was delicious, so much to choose from and all cooked to order - I can highly recommend the porridge with whisky soaked sultanas - a great way to start the day!
Sadly our visit was a rushed one, but we will certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmajanelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

My husband and I spent a short one night stay and it made a lasting impression on us both.
We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and found the initial welcome of the staff both courteous and friendly.
Our room was warm ,spotless ,spacious and the decor sensitive. with all Mod. Cons.
The ensuite bathroom had lovely fluffy towels and numerous toietries to choose from
The main lounge was comfortable with a selection of books, games, a selection of daily newspapers and a well stocked barand a piano,
The dining room inviting, with white linen tablecloths and serviettes. The breakfast was tremendous, with a seletion of Cereals, fresh fruit salad, grapefruit, prunes, Yogurts, nuts, raisins,
sveral fruit juices. the Hot menu was vast and everything was cooked to order.
This Hotel deseves all the accolades it gets and is suitable for families, singles, couples and Businessmen, facilities are available for businessmen with internet facilities..It is also dog friendly.
Well done Newton House and proprieters Lisa and Mark Wilson.
Thank you for a short but sweet stay.
Dorothy and Bob Gatting

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank corrieRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews