We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever breakfast!”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I have just spent 2 nights here and can thoroughly recommend it. We had a warm welcome from Denise who advised us where to eat in the evenings. Nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable bed in a large room and lots of nice touches including drinks cabinet and an honesty bar in the downstairs lounge. The breakfast was the best that I can remember ever having. Plenty of home-made and local produce. Gluten and dairy free catered for too. Jackie in the dining room was also very friendly and efficient. A special place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leos26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Newton House..what a lovely welcome!
Well situated for York, which we visited by train and Harrogate.
Superb room, lovley bathroom, extremely comfortable and clean with friendly staff and wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts each morning.
Nothing was too much trouble and this, our 2nd visit was equally impressive.
We shall be back soon! Well done Denise!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

A recommendation lead to 6 of us going for a long weekend. Our bedroom was stunning with a fabulous bathroom. The welcome us warm and we'd asked for dinner reservations to me made as we were delayed and Denise had arranged two lovely venues.
The too breakfast we had were simply stunning.Great produce beatifully presented. Many of the preserves and jams were home made and were fantastic. The staff were also polite, friendly and very efficient.
The surrounding area is quite stunning which is the word I'd use to describe the whole weekend,

Room Tip: Room 1 is great but faces the road however I did'nt notice the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We received a friendly welcome, and were given a map which our hostess marked out with places we wanted to visit and recommended places to eat. Our bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts were perfectly cooked, with a good range of options on the menu. Newton House is ideally located to explore Knaresborough, including Mother Shipton's Cave and Petrifying Well, and many surrounding areas, such as Fountain's Abbey and Harrogate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Guest house is full of charm and character and the rooms are beautiful.
Denise is a fabulous host and takes pride in her house, clean and tidy.
Breakfast is to die for especially the Eggs Benedict with local large white pig ham (Beautiful).
It may be a guest house but it is far better than a lot of Hotels i have stayed in

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent we had room 11 & 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4yneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our bedroom was lovely and clean. The staff were really friendly; for example when my boyfriends coat was really wet, it got hung up inside the aga room to dry and my boyfriend was leant a rain coat to borrow for the night. And breakfast was yummy and there was a lot of choice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a last minute decision to go away for the weekend 17th to 19th October and booked Newton House. Had a wonderful stay. I would endorse all the positive comments on here.The room was extremely comfortable, with a queen size bed, great breakfast and spotlessly clean. We were greeted by the owner when we arrived and shown to our room. As we had come straight from work we had not eaten and she was very helpful in suggesting various venues within a five to ten minute walk. We would highly recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestonAlivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,326 reviews
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
217 reviews
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: £83 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing