We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great return visit”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2008

This was our second visit and it didn't disappoint. The welcome was genuine, the room was beautifully decorated and the bed fabulously comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Newton House and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheretonext61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Newton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2008

Newton house is truly lovely. The proprieters have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. I spent 2 days here. The bed & room was really comfy & the decor /fittings were excellent. The breakfast was superb, wonderful quality and beautifully presented. Added to all this the proprieters were friendly & most helpful.

It's situated in the centre of Knaresborough so it's easy to find a restaurant for an evening meal, plus to take off on a variety of walks in the area.

I'd be back with no hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Soutenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Newton House, Knaresborough, Yorkshire.
Stayed , 4th & 5th June 2008

Once in a blue moon you discover a place that you want to tell everyone about, but then you don't want to spread it around because you want to keep it exclusive. This is Newton House.
It has all the qualities of a 4 star hotel but manages to retain that home-from-home comfort and atmosphere.

The house is situated on the main road but traffic is not a big problem. It's architecture is of the old coaching inn style with an arched entrance over a cobbled driveway through to a courtyard.
Here you find parking for approximately 8-10 cars plus the location of several ground floor rooms. There is also a lovely shaded seating area.
In true Northern friendly style you enter the main house via the back door which is off the courtyard .
The small hallway still retains the original flagstone flooring and there are many other features of the old design which compliment the tasteful modern furnishings.
Yes, the building is quirky and you have a choice of stairs which may all lead to the same place. But this adds to its uniqueness.
Inside the rooms you will want for nothing. Everything has been thought of for up-to-date comfort and ease. A huge kingsize bed, Dab radio, flatscreen television and a fridge almost as big as a regular under-the-counter home fridge with drinks to suit everyones taste.
The extra little touches like bisquits and kitkats with the tea/coffee and the quality Moulton Brown toiletries in the bathroom are all indicative of the attitude for great service from
Lisa and Mark the proprietors.
Short of having breakfast in bed (not very comfortable anyway) this cannot be improved upon. Choice and presentation and indeed the food itself (cooked by Lisa) is top class. On top of this Lisa finds time to make her own Aberlour whisky marmalade and jams which she serves at breakfast.
Mark is useful too when it comes to friendly knowledge of the area and for recommending excellent places for dinner which may include sending you on a train to the next station with a restaurant in the middle of nowhere.
The general ethos of business in the north appears to be word and mouth recommendations. And if you are proud of something or somewhere you don't mind putting your name to recommending it to others.
Newton House was recommended to us by Real Simulation at the Yorkshire Flight Centre and we are pleased to do the same to anyone wanting to visit the area between Harrogate to York to Whitby, all within 60-90minutes drive from Knaresborough.
Thank you Lisa and Mark.

Angie & Jim Reynolds,
Brentwood House,
Cornsland,
Brentwood,
Essex.
CM14 4JL

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jareynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Went to Newton House for a two night break with my elderley Mother. First of all Mark (the Owner) made sure we had the correct room for our needs, always saved a parking spot in the hotel carpark, and quite frankly could not do enough for us, it was such a pleasure to stay at this warm and friendly guest house. Our room was spacious with an ensuite shower. It had all the little luxuries to make our stay perfect.
Marvelous choice for breakfast..right down to the whiskey soaked raisins with our porridge and Lisa's home made jams for the toast! There is a very comfortable lounge with a small bar so you can relax and unwind from all the site seeing in the area. Harrogate is only a couple of miles away and of course much to see in the surrounding country side, we will certainly book again at Newton House and I will be telling all my friends that it is a must for a short break

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

i booked this weekend break for my husband and i and 6 other,good friends, not knowing anything about the hotel i was a bit worried in case i had made a bad choice, i needent have worried as the moment we stepped through the door we was made so welcome, mark lisa and staff are lovely hosts, and the rooms was spotless , the rooms have everything you need from fluffy towels to lovely big beds radio, tv ironing board hairdryer, every kind of tea and coffee, sweets choc biscuits mini bar with reasonable prices. The breakfast was to die for i have never seen so much to choose from we was spoiled for choice, and Knaresbourgh itself is a lovely place and the people was so friendly, we didnt want to come home, so thankyou again mark and lisa, we will be back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sylviaFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Can’t say enough good things about Newton House! My husband and I stayed three nights and couldn’t have been more pleased. Owners Mark and Lisa made us feel welcome the minute we arrived and our large room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Supplied with plush linens and Molton Brown toiletries, the room also contained a digital radio/clock, flat screen television, assorted teas, coffee and a fully-stocked mini-bar. Internet service available as well. The rest of this charming guest house is just as inviting from the main lounge to the lovely dining room. Here we enjoyed an excellent selection of breakfast offerings including the best full English breakfast. All made to order. Oh, and make sure to try Lisa’s homemade marmalade. Not to be missed! Top notch staff - thanks to both Stella and Tom for making our stay special. Oh, and to Cassie the house dog, too. I loved our daily game of fetch. Kudos to Mark and Lisa for hiring such quality staff and for making this a most pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OriginalRecipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

We decided to have a night away with our beloved labradoor and loved Newton House. I'm used to 5 star hotels in my work but this was a real home from home gem. We had a self contained room at the back as we had the dog..but nothing was too much effort. After a late night on the lash we were late for breakfast and I'm so glad we made it as it was one of the best ones I've ever had. Lisa was a very good host and I would highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janemeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
621 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,312 reviews
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#9 of 15 in Knaresborough
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: £80 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing