We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable place”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable place”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have been seduced by the place : location, welcome, comfort, quietness of the environment...
The large choice of breakfasts is also appreciable, as well as the smile of the hosts.
I had a delightful stay at Newton House !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shnew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    67
    12
    5
    12
See reviews for
83
228
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
windsor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My son and I stayed here in October 13. We spent 4 lovely nights and had the wonderful big breakfast every day to start our days out walking around beautiful Yorkshire our room was just amazing every little detail you could think of was there . Knaresborough is such a lovely town and ideally situated if you won't to explore Yorkshire

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Centrally placed in Knaresborough, this is a welcoming and comfortable place to stay. We had a large but warm and cosy courtyard bedroom. The breakfast is more than excellent and Denise and helpers very jolly. The old market area is very quaint and the riverside walk delightful. Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottagegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I have just spent 2 nights here and can thoroughly recommend it. We had a warm welcome from Denise who advised us where to eat in the evenings. Nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable bed in a large room and lots of nice touches including drinks cabinet and an honesty bar in the downstairs lounge. The breakfast was the best that I can remember ever having. Plenty of home-made and local produce. Gluten and dairy free catered for too. Jackie in the dining room was also very friendly and efficient. A special place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leos26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weybridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Newton House..what a lovely welcome!
Well situated for York, which we visited by train and Harrogate.
Superb room, lovley bathroom, extremely comfortable and clean with friendly staff and wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts each morning.
Nothing was too much trouble and this, our 2nd visit was equally impressive.
We shall be back soon! Well done Denise!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

A recommendation lead to 6 of us going for a long weekend. Our bedroom was stunning with a fabulous bathroom. The welcome us warm and we'd asked for dinner reservations to me made as we were delayed and Denise had arranged two lovely venues.
The too breakfast we had were simply stunning.Great produce beatifully presented. Many of the preserves and jams were home made and were fantastic. The staff were also polite, friendly and very efficient.
The surrounding area is quite stunning which is the word I'd use to describe the whole weekend,

Room Tip: Room 1 is great but faces the road however I did'nt notice the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We received a friendly welcome, and were given a map which our hostess marked out with places we wanted to visit and recommended places to eat. Our bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, and the breakfasts were perfectly cooked, with a good range of options on the menu. Newton House is ideally located to explore Knaresborough, including Mother Shipton's Cave and Petrifying Well, and many surrounding areas, such as Fountain's Abbey and Harrogate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,494 reviews
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing