We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful personal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
herts
Level Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stay here on business every week and cannot understand the negative comments. Lovely appointed rooms, super comfy beds and excellent breakfasts with friendly, personal service. I fully recommend this establishment to all. Denise and jackie work very hard to make your stay special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leedeb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    65
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
82
224
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a fantastic stay at Newton House, this was our fourth visit and as usual it was great, our room was lovely and had very comfy beds. Denise was friendly and helpful. The breakfast as always was delicious and the home made marmalade superb! We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This guest house is well appointed and the rooms are a reasonable size and well appointed. We had a room at the back of the house which was nice and quiet. The breakfast is very good, plenty of choice and well cooked to one individual liking. There is car parking available at the rear of the house although it can be a little tricky to get in to a space. Knaresborough was a nice place to visit with plenty of eating places within a short walk of Newton House. The castle and river walks made for a pleasant mornings exploration.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 at the rear of the property are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week. Very nice room with an excellent king size bed and quality linens. Our room was at the back so we had no trouble from noise as reported by some reviewers. Breakfast very well presented with a good range of cereals and cooked items. Parking was a little difficult as the car park behind the house is quite small. Denise does her best to fit everyone in but sometimes you can find yourself unable to get out or unable to park on your return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pethos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here following a family celebration; all 4 rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean. The house is a Georgian building and there is such a sense of history it is very easy to imagine how it may have been in years gone by. The guests sitting room with an honesty bar and selection of games was enjoyed at the end of the night and also in the morning to finish our breakfast coffee's.
The delicious breakfast really does deserve a special mention as the range of choice and standard of cooking was up there with some of the best hotels we have stayed in.
Knaresborough is a super little town to wander around in and I can recommend the Blind Jack Pub which is a quirky little pub serving good beer and pleasant service. The restaurant Carriages is also very good and serves delicious Tapa's and fine wines.
My only criticism is the early finish of breakfast as 9.00am on a weekday when you have a rare chance of a weekday lie in is a tad early.

Room Tip: For light sleepers I would recommend asking for a room at the back as even though we had shutters an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandDave3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Poppleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

A pamperred 'Jenny Russell' pooch review - 5 star welcome! 5 star accomodation! My owners told me they slept very well in a lovely comfy bed and had the most delicious breakfast. I can personally recommend the sausages and the homemade doggy treats. There was even a pooch sitting service if my owner's wanted to go out for the evening. Plenty of lovely places to dine in Knaresborough some places are happy for me to visit too. From one happy pooch, I can honestly say this hotel is one to come back to. I was made to feel very welcome. My owner's were very happy too. Although we only stayed for one night the service and attention to detail in every aspect, was the same as if we were staying longer. The room/bathroom was spotlessly clean - right down to no pooch hairs from the previous occupants. Decor and furnishings were home from home. The hosts were very kind and made us all feel very welcome. We all will be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a wonderful find. Denise made the 3 of us and Snoopy our old Border Collie so welcome. Lovely room furnished to the highest standard. The home-made dog biscuits in the room were a lovely touch. I would highly recommend Newton House and knaresborough. Lovely town, lots of dog friendly eating places, fantastic walks, very friendly people.
Denise's breakfasts are amazing, one of our party needs dairy free and Denise had everything from dairy free organic spread to almond milk.
We enjoyed it so much that we stayed an extra night. A lovely 30th birthday weekend for my daughter who is at York St John's University. Will definitely be coming again.
Thanks to Denise and her lovely staff.

Room Tip: Stay here for a relaxing time, and enjoy the leisurely pace of Newton House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carohen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing