We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night. The owner is very helpful, breakfasts are fabulous, staff are very attentive and approachable. I paid for a superior room which was a bit smaller than I imagined but it was very very clean and comfy. We stayed in room 5 which overlooks the road, traffic was passing but with the windows open it did not bother us. She had even put large electric fans in the rooms as it was so warm.
We arrived early and was able to park our car there and return later. Denise showed us the walkways and gave us a map.
The bathroom was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VGN061070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    65
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
82
224
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stopped over for two days to break up the travelling. Me and my dog Lola were made to feel very welcome. The room which was just across the courtyard was very spacious and the bed VERY comfy!! It was also very clean. Breakfast was much appreciated and the staff were very helpful especially when I was wondering where I could go that allowed dogs. Enjoyed my stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 727emmapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I must first thank Denise and staff for a wonderful stay!!! You have such a nice place, pleas keep up the good work. We stayed for 5 nights in June/July as part of a 3 week trip around Scotland and Northern England. We had two rooms between the 3 of us, my partner and my room had been renovated and was very nice. Our traveling companion was in a room that hadn't been refreshed, but was still a very nice room. Please keep the four poster beds, Denise!!! All the amenities in the rooms were just fine. We liked that the windows opened, nice refreshing breeze even on a warmer day. A bit loud sometimes at night on the street side of hotel with the younger crowd going home from the pubs, but at least they were having fun!!! Next time I'd like to try a room on the courtyard side and see how it is. What can I say about breakfast, but yummy!!! Denise you are wonder in the kitchen, your homemade preserves are wonderful. Lots of great information on things to do in the area, thank you for all your advice. I like that you have parking, but car owners be aware it can be tight, but there is a great public parking lot just 5 minutes walk down the street. If you get back later in the day and everything in the hotel car park is full, the city lot is free in the evening until I think 8 am the next day, so no worries. I hope to return someday, Yorkshire needs more exploring and we love Newton House.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are quite nice, however, if you don't like a bit of noise when your windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We would like to thank Denise for another great stay.The room was spacious and the bed was large and very comfortable. The breakfasts are brilliant so much choice and all cooked fresh .Denise and staff are very attentive to your needs and do everything to make your stay brilliant .we will be back with our dog Lola who they also made welcome with home made doggie treats waiting for her in the room
Thanking. You Denise
Paula and Malcolm

Room Tip: If you have a dog the two rooms are huge and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pop5350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here last July for the gift trade fair in Harrogate, and returned again this year.

I don't think there's much I can add to my (glowing!) review last year... Some of the rooms have had very neat renovations, including my single room, which wasn't huge but was spacious enough. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the couple of minor things in the room that were broken were due to be fixed imminently. Cleanliness could not be faulted!

Breakfasts are wonderful - both for the choice of filling, delicious options (much of it local and/or organic) and for the friendly service too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed last night for a family funeral. Room very comfy with everything I needed. All staff very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. I booked at short notice and am very glad I chose this hotel. I will come back to Knaresborough and would stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from another fabulous trip to knaresbrough, our 3rd time staying at newton house, the hotel is supberb, the rooms are fabulous and the breakfasts are amazing with so much choice! Very friendly people and we always feel welcome. Its very central to the lovely market town town of knaresborough.

Nicola and Trevor

Room Tip: room 5 is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing