We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rudest welcome I have ever experienced.”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The rudest welcome I have ever experienced.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having looked forward to staying here since booking a few months ago I am upset that I have had a negative experience. To be 'greeted' by the hotel owner telling you off and shouting that she has not had her breakfast because they are busy and have to clean rooms was an unpleasant shock. (We arrived before check-in but had made it clear we were not expecting to check-in early and just wanted to leave the car and use the restroom).

Although my room was clean and breakfast was pleasant there was no going back such was the encounter. An apology goes a long way! I work hard and a weekend staying in a hotel is a treat. Although we enjoyed the rest of the weekend and our stay, unfortunately my over-riding memory of Knaresborough was this meeting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonhouse, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Oh dear – you obviously caught me at a very bad time when Newton House was closed. It is unusual for us to have every room checking out on a Saturday morning and I was under a lot of pressure to get 12 bedrooms ready for new guests checking in that afternoon. I’m sorry if you think I was rude – I certainly did not intend to be.

Newton House is a 4 gold star guest house – it is not a hotel with 24-hr a day reception facilities. We do offer the facility of an early check in (free of charge) as long as we are given prior notification (and we did ask you to let us know if you would like this).

I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and liked your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    69
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
83
233
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed in multiple hotels / guest houses / B&Bs around the world and the manner in which I was spoken to upon arrival at Newton House was by far the rudest I have ever received. The owner of the place appeared to have take issue at the fact that I had not replied to an e mail asking what time I intended to arrive to check in. I since have checked my emails / junk folder / deleted e mails and definitely did not receive any such e mail.

I had received a text message earlier in the day stating that the room would not be ready until 3pm. I had promptly replied stating that this was absolutely fine.

Upon arrival in the car park at 1pm, I wanted to use the toilet and then return after 3pm to check in.

I was confronted by an aggressive lady (the owner) who told me off several times about the fact I had not replied to her e mail. I was shocked and perplexed by this misplaced aggression and complete rudeness.

This completely soured the rest of my stay in Knaresborough and am keen to warn other potential guests about this. Other people have done the same on this website; so if you are reading this - you have been warned.

Take your well earned money and stay somewhere else where you will get a "warm welcome" rather than someone who cannot cope with her own job and takes it out on her guests.

(I'm sure this will generate a generic response from the owner about in a "he said, she said" / "you can't please everyone fashion" but this is the first review I have ever written as I have never experience such rude customer service in my life).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thebeautifulnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonhouse, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
As I have already explained to your friend, ‘Ruth G’, Newton House was closed when you arrived at 12.15pm, and we (myself and my staff) were under a lot pressure to get all our rooms serviced to our normal high standards by our check-in time of 3pm.

I’m sorry if I seemed abrupt, and on this occasion I hold my hands up – I was having a bad day. I like everything to be perfect for my guests on their arrival, and do my best to accommodate their wishes regarding check in. But as your early arrival was unexpected, your three rooms were not ready, and so I fell short of the normal high standards we have at Newton House. I’m sorry you had a bad experience – but please be assured, this is not how I normally welcome my guests.

Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for one night and were made to feel very welcome. Slightly quirky but very nicely decorated room, the facilities were fine for us but if you were on the large side you would find our bathroom a bit of a squeeze. However the breakfast is something else, probably on of the best hotel breakfasts.I have ever had (and that includes 5* London hotels). Would definitely recommend and we look forward to a return visit. Interesting Georgian house and nice entrance 'fernery' added to the appeal.

Room Tip: If you are a 'larger' person ask not to have the downstairs bedroom on the main street (No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebrgbbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night. The owner is very helpful, breakfasts are fabulous, staff are very attentive and approachable. I paid for a superior room which was a bit smaller than I imagined but it was very very clean and comfy. We stayed in room 5 which overlooks the road, traffic was passing but with the windows open it did not bother us. She had even put large electric fans in the rooms as it was so warm.
We arrived early and was able to park our car there and return later. Denise showed us the walkways and gave us a map.
The bathroom was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGN061070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stopped over for two days to break up the travelling. Me and my dog Lola were made to feel very welcome. The room which was just across the courtyard was very spacious and the bed VERY comfy!! It was also very clean. Breakfast was much appreciated and the staff were very helpful especially when I was wondering where I could go that allowed dogs. Enjoyed my stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 727emmapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I must first thank Denise and staff for a wonderful stay!!! You have such a nice place, pleas keep up the good work. We stayed for 5 nights in June/July as part of a 3 week trip around Scotland and Northern England. We had two rooms between the 3 of us, my partner and my room had been renovated and was very nice. Our traveling companion was in a room that hadn't been refreshed, but was still a very nice room. Please keep the four poster beds, Denise!!! All the amenities in the rooms were just fine. We liked that the windows opened, nice refreshing breeze even on a warmer day. A bit loud sometimes at night on the street side of hotel with the younger crowd going home from the pubs, but at least they were having fun!!! Next time I'd like to try a room on the courtyard side and see how it is. What can I say about breakfast, but yummy!!! Denise you are wonder in the kitchen, your homemade preserves are wonderful. Lots of great information on things to do in the area, thank you for all your advice. I like that you have parking, but car owners be aware it can be tight, but there is a great public parking lot just 5 minutes walk down the street. If you get back later in the day and everything in the hotel car park is full, the city lot is free in the evening until I think 8 am the next day, so no worries. I hope to return someday, Yorkshire needs more exploring and we love Newton House.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are quite nice, however, if you don't like a bit of noise when your windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We would like to thank Denise for another great stay.The room was spacious and the bed was large and very comfortable. The breakfasts are brilliant so much choice and all cooked fresh .Denise and staff are very attentive to your needs and do everything to make your stay brilliant .we will be back with our dog Lola who they also made welcome with home made doggie treats waiting for her in the room
Thanking. You Denise
Paula and Malcolm

Room Tip: If you have a dog the two rooms are huge and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pop5350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
602 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,295 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing