We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and great service”

Restaurant at Lastingham Grange
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at Lastingham Grange is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Lastingham
Price range: US$0 - US$82
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great service”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My friend and I turned up here for morning coffee and were well looked after. We sat in the garden and were served very professionally. We loved looking round the garden and have promised ourselves another visit, which we must do.

Helpful?
Thank DianaWeTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tranquility/5 star food and service.Highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

After a delightful drive over the moors,you arrive at this hidden treasure,with its old fashioned charm,where theres always a very warm welcome .Sitting out on the terrace for your pre lunch drinks is recommended ,so you can admire the well manicured garden,But If its a bit on the cool side there's a comfy home from home lounge with a nice log fire,to peruse the menu.The food is fantastic,with service that's how it should be .A special place to go on a special occasion,I'm certainly looking forward to my next visit.A relaxing experience leaving the rat race behind and stopping the clock for a few hours..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing perfection”
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

We only live 5 miles from this enchanting establishment so we have not stayed as guests there. However, since discovering it by chance several years ago, it has become a firm favourite. We visit for lunch or tea whenever we feel the need to relax and restore our spirits. In the warm weather we sit, read and eat in the garden, which is extensive, beautiful and so peaceful. When it is colder we go into the lounge where there are comfortable sofas and chairs and a lovely fire. We are greeted by name and are made to feel most welcome.
This is a family run establishment and the family and their staff are delightful. The place is not modern or smart. It is more in keeping with Miss Marple, feels like home, warm, welcoming, comfortable and spotless. The food is outstanding. It is a treasure, an oasis of calm, friendly, outstanding quality. The countryside in which it stands is incomparable.
Treat yourself to a visit. You will love it.

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Dinner”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

For breakfast there is a selection of cereals and fruit, etc. plus a full English cooked breakfast cooked to order. Dinner was a set price with many choices. The steak was memorable!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anpatlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“simply wonderful”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Very little has changed over 25 years in the extraordinarily high standards of the discrete and friendly service, wonderful food and exceptional location and atmosphere. Words cannot do the owners and staff justice for the unpretentious quality of this place in all its facets - a real gem. Drinks on the terrace in the beautiful grounds, followed by Sunday lunch here just cannot be bettered.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djk903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Lastingham Grange also viewed

Lastingham, North Yorkshire
Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park
 
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire
 
Harome, North Yorkshire
Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Lastingham Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing