We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Cream Tea in a Gorgeous Garden Setting!!”

Restaurant at Lastingham Grange
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at Lastingham Grange is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Lastingham
Price range: US$0 - US$82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cream Tea in a Gorgeous Garden Setting!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely gardens and a great place to go for afternoon tea! Their gluten free scones were divine! We did not have time to sample the cocktails, but we will go back in the near future to try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“6 star service!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Personal friendly service that goes the extra mile. Delightful surroundings superb menu choices and two special diets (diabetic and gluten free) catered for in our party. A thoroughly enjoyable experience from being shown into the lounge to make menu choices over a pre-meal drink to returning to the lounge for after-meal coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deedeeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in English country garden”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We visited this delightful hidden gem this week while on holiday in the Scarborough area. We discovered it via the Hi Life card and were able to take advantage of savings which was an added bonus!
It was a lovely pleasant journey of discovery through the countryside to arrive at Lastingham Grange. When we arrived and saw the grandeur of the place we were a little concerned we may be under-dressed - but on voicing our concerns to the lady who greeted us we were quickly assured that 'there were no rules here' which really put us at ease. This set the tone for the rest of our visit which we enjoyed immensely.
It started with drinks in the stunning garden round the back of the house, which was just bursting with colour and was obviously well cared for. We were then shown into the dining room for our 5 course lunch which was delicious from start to finish - highlight had to be the roast beef dinner, a plate full of top quality beef and home made huge Yorkshire Puddings (we were encouraged to have 2 or more of these if we wanted by the very charming young man who was serving us). The dessert of nutty meringues was a fitting sweet end to the meal - we were even asked if we wanted seconds!!
Throughout the meal the service we received really was second to none, the staff were attentive yet kept out of the way when not needed. We have never experienced anything quite like it.
Overall I would just like to say that we felt so at home at Lastingham Grange and it's reassuring to know there are still some establishments out there who know how to provide first class customer service and first class home made food!
Thank you - we WILL be back! :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great service”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My friend and I turned up here for morning coffee and were well looked after. We sat in the garden and were served very professionally. We loved looking round the garden and have promised ourselves another visit, which we must do.

Helpful?
Thank DianaWeTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tranquility/5 star food and service.Highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

After a delightful drive over the moors,you arrive at this hidden treasure,with its old fashioned charm,where theres always a very warm welcome .Sitting out on the terrace for your pre lunch drinks is recommended ,so you can admire the well manicured garden,But If its a bit on the cool side there's a comfy home from home lounge with a nice log fire,to peruse the menu.The food is fantastic,with service that's how it should be .A special place to go on a special occasion,I'm certainly looking forward to my next visit.A relaxing experience leaving the rat race behind and stopping the clock for a few hours..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Lastingham Grange also viewed

Lastingham, North Yorkshire
Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park
 
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Lastingham Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing