We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owls at night and owls in the morning”
Review of Lastingham Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lastingham Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lastingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A surreal experience on our first visit here; rather as I imagine how Dr Who might feel on being able to return to an earlier time. Public and bed rooms are full of character and traditional artefacts with no thought of modern design or minimalism. Thank heavens. The moors, to which we are regular visitors, are less than 100 yards away and once on them one has miles of peace and beauty to explore. Upon arrival in the afternoon tea and scones with generous portions of cream and jam, much vaunted by other reviewers, are not to be missed. Dinner is generous and traditional. Breakfast has everything you could hope for, especially plenty of fresh fruit and the best honey I have ever tasted, on the comb and produced by the proprietors who also do everything possible to make their visitors feel at home and looked after. The hoots of owls on both late night and early morning dog walks were the loudest noise to be heard during our stay. We intend to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smking323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My title really says it all - we coeliacs rarely find afternoon tea - so this is a double pleasure - lovely sandwiches in delicious GF bread, home- made scones, jam and cream, and a plate of varied cakes, plenty of tea, and all in a cosy room, with a real fire, comfortable chairs ad plenty of interesting books and magazines to peruse- and my non-GF partner said his scones were 'the best ever'.
I have to say I totally disagree with the very rude review which likens this delightful, friendly hotel to an old people's home - if you want style over substance, uncomfy leather sofas and fashion, you can go to any coffee bar in York - but if you come here, expect friendly, prompt service, good food, in a quiet, homely country-house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is our third visit to Lastingham Grange with our 2 friends and once again I cannot fault it. The Wood family were as usual very attentive and were always happy to advise you about places to go (our friends have a car). Rooms very quiet and food excellent. What a pity it is not open for Christmas as we wouldn't mind spending the festive period here!

Room Tip: Can't really say as we have always had rooms overlooking the gardens which I assume would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we wanted to go walking in the North York Moors. It's ideally located for the moor and the village is very attractive with a great pub.
However, the hotel is reminiscent of a bad old people's home. It smells grubby and the lounge area is crammed with chairs (though there were hardly any people in them. The house, once beautiful, is tatty and full of the most tasteless ornaments.
The service is slightly scary because it is so obsequious and wherever you turn, one of the proprietors is asking if you want anything.
Our room was large but the decoration looked as if it hadn't been changed since the 70s. The bathroom smelled of cigarettes and we had to complain and get it aired. The toilet paper and complimentary toiletries were cheap and nasty.
Breakfast was good but the few people who were staying spoke in whispers.
There are good reviews of the hotel but we think that must be because the clientele are generally elderly and the hotel feels like a home from home. Having said that, when we were there at the end of July it was virtually empty. We paid quite a lot for it - £180 per night but if we'd waited we'd have got it for £120 which is very annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allmynamesweretaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adhwood, Owner at Lastingham Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you had only mentioned something whilst you were with us.

The room you were in was redecorated last year with new beds, new bathroom and new furniture.

We as a family are always on hand if you want suggestions with walks or advice on where to visit

Lastingham Grange welcomes guests of any age. During the summer we have a lot of families staying and during spring and autumn more retired people.

Most of our guest like Lastingham Grange so much they return time and time again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Went for a walk from Hutton-le-hole to Lastingham. My partner (who had visited this hotel with friends 2 years ago and vowed to go back as he loved it so much ) surprised me with afternoon tea. The welcome and service were impeccable and the gardens and hotel are absolutely stunning and heaped in character. Now onto the cream tea - I have had lots of scones in my time but the scones were honestly the best and lightest I have ever tasted, the jam was sublime and the ambience first class! The staff were lovely and I'm returning in October for a treat for my mother!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adisgruntledcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for a family anniversary weekend and were hugely impressed. It really is like a step back in time, very old fashioned and with that comes outstanding levels of service that are focused entirely on your needs. The gardens are stunning, deceptively large and beautifully designed.The service really is second to none and the family who run the hotel obviously care very much about their customers with all requests met with a smile. The afternoon tea with freshly baked jam and clotted cream scones is really quite wonderful and the morning coffee with home made biscuits is another lovely touch. The rooms are well equipped with anything you might need, powerful showers and wonderfully soft & comfortable beds. It is old fashioned in style, think chintz and carpets rather than wood floors and chrome fittings but there is nothing wrong with nostalgia - the mis-matched lounge is absolutely gorgeous and a lovely place to spend some time, as is the terrace overlooking the wonderful gardens. The family that run the hotel should be very proud indeed of the experience they offer their guests - thank you for a wonderful stay & all you did to ensure my parents anniversary was an event to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabyBlueLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I don't normally write reviews but felt on this occasion I had to. Stayed for 1 night on 3rd August but did not want to leave. The house is like a step back in time and is truly magical. Gardens are beautiful and the food to die for .The service is second to none and the family who run hotel obviously care very much about their customers. The little touches such as the afternoon tea with fresh scones and the morning coffee with home made biscuits just topped off the stay. The food in the restaurant is first class. Best hotel I have stayed in by far. Cannot wait to go back. Bertie and his brother (Tom I think) are simply lovely and cannot do enough for you. Very sad to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spacey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lastingham
15.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,645 reviews
8.5 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
6.0 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lastingham Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lastingham Grange

Address: Lastingham, Lastingham YO62 6TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Lastingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lastingham
Price Range: £157 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lastingham Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Lastingham Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lastingham Grange Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing