We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wendm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wensleydale Railway

Wensleydale Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wendm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

i would reccomend this for a day out i used to ride on trains in the1950s so
it brings back a lot of memorys for me it also brought people back into the dales
when it was reopened to passengers long live the wensleydale railway

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    44
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Santa trains 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Went on the 13.00 steam departure from Leyburn today and had a fab time. Travelled with my almost 5 year old and 1 year old. Train was on time and santa got out of the carriage and greeted us onboard as well as the elves and other helpers. We were seated and set off down the route to Redmire. Almost straight away the staff brought the kids cartons of juice (ribena) in a choice of different flavours which was good and a chocolate covered shortbread christmas tree biscuit. Then the adults were served a wine glass full of mulled wine :) with a chocolate and a mince pie. We arrived at Redmire and got out to watch the train couple up to take us back. Back on board santa was almost at our carriage and he sat talking with my 2 children for a good 10 minutes. They were given good quality gifts suitable for their age and they were very happy with them. On the way back we stopped at Leyburn but continued down the line a bit then turned back and santa sat with us again. Altogether the experience was about 2 hours and well worth the money. There were only a few santa trains this year that have been steam hauled and i thinks it is definately worth trying to get booked on them rather than a diesel. Will be back next year!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaoroarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Railway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We enjoyed the scenery which was stunning in the Autumn sunshine. Combining the railway with the vintage bus, and a walk around Aysgarth Falls made for a very enjoyable and memorable day out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveAndKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A really good day out. If you want to buy a gift for someone think of this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is one of the many preserved railways across the UK but in many ways it has many things that make it one of the best to visit. The line goes some 16miles from Leeming Bar to Redmire through the Yorkshire dales making it one of the longest preserved railways.

My recent day on the line was a 'driver experience' where I was shown how to drive a diesel railcar. The two staff who 'trained' us were excellent and made the day a wonderful experience. The day started with breakfast and then a technical talk. This was pitched just right and gave us an really good start before moving onto the train and trying it out ourselves.

The railway have ambitious plans to extend to Northallerton and are investing huge amounts of time in improvements. The people we met were really enthusiastic about their railway and we could see why.

If you do visit the railway it is ideal for stopping off and visiting some of the really nice places in the dale and take a camera - views like the one of Bolton Castle as you approach Redmire are worth paying the rail fare alone!

If you want a gift for a friend then think of this! Some people say steam driving is the only option. Having done both I don't agree. This day was just as good and given the way the staff greeted and helped us -slightly better! Excellent value for money!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Luti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fun day trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I surprised my husband with a day trip on the Wensleydale Railway. I packed a nice picnic lunch and we enjoyed it in a cabin all to ourselves. At the end of our ride, we hiked to Castle Bolton. This would probably be a fun event for kids, as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBruiserGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wensleydale Railway also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
Leeming Bar, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wensleydale Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing