We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leeming Bar
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last night on a KGB deal and we really wished we hadn't. Everything about the place was just awful. The room was tiny, threadbare and in desperate need of modernisation. The overpowering smell of egg throughout the building was enough to make you need to vomit. Unfortunately we decided to eat in the restaurant (based on certain reviews found on here) and it was the worst meal we have ever had. Not only did it take a ridiculously long time to arrive but when it did it was almost stone cold and was drenched in stale frying oil which can't have been changed for a long time. We ate what we could as we were hungry but really shouldn't have bothered as we both felt sick after. The staff, although reasonably friendly, were completely incompetent: The waitress was continuously apologising for one thing or another and the person who I assume was the duty manager was eating whilst serving and didn't seem to have a clue what the kitchen did or did not have available. On going to bed it was impossible to get to sleep until the early hours due to both the live country singer and the birthday disco fighting to be heard over one another. Breakfast was equally as horrific as dinner, swimming again in their signature stale cooking oil. On checking out we complained about the poor fare and service we had received the previous night but no apology was given only the excuse that they had been busy! We have never been so pleased to leave a place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateKFB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    35
    27
    28
    14
See reviews for
29
72
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a one night stay here recently when visiting the local Black Sheep Brewery, to start with the positives it is very easy to find, just off the A1, the breakfast was nice, the bed was comfy and there was a powerful shower in the bathroom.
However, we went to the bar to have a meal on the evening, first problem was that most of the beer and wine was off, so there was a highly limited menu. Despite the place being virtually empty we had quite a long wait, only for the starters to arrive on an icy cold plate-unsurprisingly the food on which was lukewarm, we couldn't find a member of staff to complain to at this point so we just cracked on. Additionally, when the mains arrived various items were missing or changed from what described on the menu-which wouldn't have been a problem if the staff would have prewarned us, however by this point they were sat round the bar texting and chatting. The dirty plates were left on our table for well over 30 mins by which time we had decided to go to the corner house pub 100yds up the road, which had a much better atmosphere and made us wish we had booked there instead.
Not somewhere I would return to in a hurry...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Stickolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leeming Bar hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

What can except poor we stopped on the way to Durham for food there was five in the party two couples and a single first the wine was off it was more like sherry second out veggie single asked if they could make her a cheese sandwich the chef said there was no cheese left !!!! So he suggested a blue cheese sandwich that's all they had to offer her we all ordered separate but within mins nobody else was served between us we asked for a hot roast beef sandwich which came with gravy and onions and a Cajun chicken sandwich which came with melted mozzarella we asked for a side of skinny fries we where told there was no skinny fries first couples meal came fine the singles meal came with burnt chips ours never came twenty mins after the couple and the singles meal came we still hadn't had food when we eventually found someone to ask she disappeared and came back and chefs just making it now and refunded us one meal fine when the food eventually came the hot roast beef was a steak sandwich no gravy or onions and the Cajun chicken was just that nothing else which was nearly cooked but the best part of the meal was the skinny fries which we where told the didn't have what a total disaster I have never in my entire life experienced such poor service or food and I have never know a pub which serves food not to have any cheese but blue cheese sorry white rose it was disgusting

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Hairykai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The Sunday lunch is the best place to go. If you want a good Saturday night out with entertainment go there, Tony and the boys and girls are lovely and so friendly .... Excellent place to go ... We love it !

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I found a deal on groupon for Sunday Carvery at The White Rose and couldn't resist it. We had been there quite a few times in the past and it had alway been nice unfortunately this is no longer the case.

I booked a table on the Saturday and when we arrived nothing had been reserved for us and we found ourselves finding our own table.

Alot of the tables had dirty plates left on them and staff were stood chatting rather than working.

When going up for oue cavery, there was nobody there to serve us and a big que began to form. We found a man come out the toilet wiping his hands on his top before cutting up the meat. Not very hygenic... I hope he'd washed his hands!

The food for us was nothing special. Veg was sloppy and there wasnt much choice. I had gammon which had masses of fat running through it and my patner had beef which was very chewy. I have to admit though, the yorkshires were very nice.

After our meal, nobody came to our table to take our plate or see if might like a dessert and after 30mins waiting we decided to leave.

It was such a shame as we had alway enjoyed it when the previous team were running it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

4 of us had sunday lunch on 5th Jan, it was excellent, lots of choice of vegetables very tasty, large helpings of meat, port, beef, gammon, turkey and yorkshire pudding. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very clean and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just returned from the most fantastic weekend at The White Rose Hotel. The rooms are of generous size (especially considering the bargain price of the room) and immaculately clean, and the staff and general atmosphere are second to none.

We arrived late on the Friday, after a 4 hour train journey, but the staff were still welcoming and accommodating, even preparing hot sandwiches for us. The housekeeping ladies were even kind enough to leave us fresh towels outside our room on Saturday morning, when we were grateful of a lie in.

It was myself and my partner's last weekend together before he was deployed out to Afghanistan, and after mentioning this to the owner of the hotel, they arranged a surprise 3 course Christmas meal for us in the conservatory on the Saturday evening. We were touched by their kindness.

Overall, the staff at the White Rose Hotel went above and beyond everything we expected, we cannot thank them enough for such a lovely weekend, and we can't wait to go back to see them all again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellShotgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeming Bar
0.4 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.3 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leeming Bar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rose Hotel

Property: The White Rose Hotel
Address: 12 Bedale Rd, Leeming Bar DL7 9AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leeming Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leeming Bar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Rose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rose Hotel at Leeming Bar is situated in the heart of North Yorkshire, just moments from the A1, Scotch Corner and the Yorkshire Dales making it ideally located for both business and leisure travellers alike. The White Rose is also home to our hugely popular pub/restaurant providing excellent home-cooked food, fine real ales and a friendly atmosphere. All of our 18 en-suite rooms offer exceptional comfort and cleanliness at great value. As a result, our hotel offers the perfect blend of privacy and isolation, alongside a gateway to the local community and regional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rose Hotel Leeming Bar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing