We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Reviewed 27 January 2014

As a group of eight friends we booked a 'TravelZoo' special, a two night stay at Monk Fryston Hall to celebrate the 'significant' birthdays of two members of our party.
From start to finish we could not have been made more welcome by all of the staff. Sunday lunch was busy, with many locals dining there too. The food both then and at our dinner on the second evening (which was much less busy) was good, wholesome and plentiful; the drinks were modest in price.
The lounge bar was warm and welcoming, the beer good and the staff were very obliging. Our bedroom was very clean and comfortable (and we had just a standard room). Others in our group paid extra to upgrade.
I had to leave early for a business meeting on the final morning and was gently upbraided by our waitress from the previous evening for not asking for an early morning cooked breakfast (and this at 6:45am!).
Having lived previously in Yorkshire, we had all but forgotten how friendly Yorkshire people can be.Give it a try.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Home today from a one night break through TravelZoo. What a little gem of a hotel. We arrived just after 12 and our rooms were ready so we could go and spruce up. The young man on reception was so polite and friendly as was all the staff, all a credit to the Management. Our room (room 5 ) was beautiful, queen size bed, lovely and warm and a beautiful bathroom. Tea and coffee and water which was a nice touch. The evening 3 course meal was amazing. Such good quality food and served in beautiful surroundings in the ornate dining room.Breakfast was really good and again served with a smile.
We wished we could have stayed longer but we will definitely be going back. The gardens are so pretty and in the summer they will look amazing.
Thankyou Monk Fryston for making this weekend a very special one.

Room Tip: ask for a superior room they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susananne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just arrived back in Nottingham from a great 2 night stay.

All the staff were friendly and very helpful particularly Steve on reception and the Italian waiter, who suggested good ideas on what to do in the area.

The evening meal was excellent as were the breakfasts and the lounge areas were comfortable and particularly inviting with the open fires, could have done with a greater selection of real ales, Banks's bitter was the only option and if you're not keen it's lager or bottles, perhaps the new owners may oblige.

Our room 8 was probably one of the best we have ever stayed in and very spacious and warm.

The hotel is in the process of refurbishment and once completed will be a real gem. Just yesterday one of the owners asked if I would like to witness the removal of the boarding on the ceiling in the Haddon room, not sure what would be be revealed, she was thrilled to see all the original beams in perfect condition.

Finally the grounds are splendid and the woodland walk a real treet.

All the best to the owners and staff, we hope to return

Don Bulmer

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms in the old hall (where we stayed) are best, but don't know this for a fact
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NutmegUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

great hotel, rooms spotless and very warm, great food, you dont have to wait long considering it was cooked to order, and staff were there for you if needed, breakfast service great again and food hot, staff are all extremely helpful, would visit again. would love to visit in summer to see the gardens in full bloom.

Room Tip: our room was fine, no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Monk Fryston from Friday afternoon until Sunday morning. The building is very impressive and was in the process of finishing redecorating when we arrived so we did not see it at its best. That said, there was a lot to like about this beautiful manor house, especially the huge fireplaces that kept the guests warm on the cold evenings.

The staff were unfailingly friendly, especially Dennis, our waiter. We really like staff who are attentive but not overbearing or constantly asking if everything is alright. In this respect everyone at Monk Fryston got the balance right and that is much appreciated.

We stayed in room 3 and were very pleased with what we found. It was warm, quiet and well appointed. Some aspects needed attention, the back of the door was disappointing and did not match the rest of the room looking more like a bodge and the lock rattled. They were only minor considerations really but attention to these details would really make Monk Fryston a special place to stay.

The food was good, especially the breakfast, but again some attention to detail would make it even better. I had the chicken Kiev and found the meat dry and the breadcrumbs hard. The following evening I tried the Partridge and found that much more appetising.

To conclude Monk Fryston makes for a great getaway for couples and we thoroughly enjoyed staying there and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterCWhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived midday on a Friday and was shown to our room, which to be fair, was a little pokey We asked if we could upgrade our room and the lovely Denise on the front desk arranged for us to be moved to room 8 (the four poster room.....and boy, what a room it is)
We had a small issue of not being able to get into the hotel at 12:15am but the issue was very professionally handled by David and apologies were gratefully accepted.
Dinner was a mixed affair. We found the starters to be exceptional, the mains not so. Our serving lady (Pauline) looked after us incredibly well and handled some of the catering mishaps with humour and professionalism.
Despite some of the hiccoughs, we are looking to booking again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked a two night " Travelzoo," break, and went on January 8th 2014; as a Birthday treat for me.
The hotel, although just off the main road; looked spectacular, in lovely gardens.
We had already been warned that the hotel was having some redecorating done, and that some of the rooms were not in use.
Therefor, on arrival, we were not surprised that the main front door was not in use. At reception; the delightful new owner explained that the main staircase, was being decorated, and not in use.

Noting our walking sticks, she was not sure that , our Superior second floor room; would be suitable for us; due to accessing it up the back staircase. We opted to try it. The gardner took our case up, narrowly missing a Hernia, but the climb was too great for my partner's heart condition.

The owner immediately arranged for us to be upgraded to room 8, the Four Poster Honeymoon Suite. What an upgrade. It was a stunning, spacious light warm, with windows and views on two aspects. We had views of the fountain, pond, bridges and wildlife.

The diner that night, was superb! My partner, who is a real " foodie," was spoilt for choice.
The portions were very generous, and the service sleek and friendly.

The following morning, we were so full from the previous evening, that we opted for the continental breakfast.

The following day we opted for the " Full Yorkshire," which was piping hot and excellent.

We both enjoyed strolling in the grounds, and one of the Mallard Ducks, nearly became "diner."

There was plenty to do in the local vicinity, even on a cold January day.
We particularly enjoyed the Buddhist Centre and Stately House at Kilnwick Percy Hall.

Chatting to the new owners, who have been there just over a year, they are in the middle of upgrading several of the bedrooms, and replacing the carpets. I will certainly return to see the changes.

I thoroughly recommend this slightly old fashioned Country House Hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for an upgrade; room 8 if you want a 4 poster suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindajane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
11.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
336 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
13.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk Fryston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Price Range: £56 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing