We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
South Milford Hotel(South Milford)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel(Leeds)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
220
224
112
45
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
224
112
45
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonk fryston hallold buildingwoodland walklovely groundssome tlctravelzoo dealhoneymoon suitean upgradewedding venuetwo night staywedding receptiona la carte menufour poster beddining experiencefollowing morningnew ownerslarge room
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This very beautiful hotel which originally was a monastery has managed to retain the original features such as the oak panelling in its bar and rooms, and at the same time provide the most comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern facilities one could wish for.
The staff are very welcoming and professional making our stay very enjoyable, the restaurant provides a great range and choice of meals and breakfast served hot and in a pleasant manner
offering to vary or change any order to your own preference.
This hotel has an Italianate garden to explore, together with a fantastic woodland walk over old
bridges around the lake and river, which we appreciated and found to be very pretty and rewarding.
All in all this hotel meets all you could wish for ,and is fantastic value for the prices charged ,fully recommended by us.

Room Tip: The room no 9 we had at the front was very large and very well maintained with a great bed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had our wedding breakfast here a couple of years ago and had a fantastic day. We have visited a number of times since and had a large family lunch for a Christening here last year.
Up until now the welcome, service and food has been great.
A recent Mother's Day lunch was hopeless, however.
Despite table reservations we didn't sit down until an hour later. Service was poor with a long wait to order drinks whilst waiting. once seated our starters arrived very promptly but there was then an hour's wait for the main course. With three children under 3 in the party eating two hours later than planned there were unsurprisingly a few grizzled. We had exhausted the few toys we took and did several rounds of the garden between courses. When the main course arrived it was awful. Overcooked Luke warm beef for the adults, a childs meal with beef charred on the outside and rare on the inside. Roast potatoes that could barely be cut. We left at this stage having spent 3 and a half hours with three mums in the party, having had next to nothing to eat. Service was awful with hardly any waiting staff there.

The table next to us had finished there main course before we sat down but were still waiting for coffee two and a half hours later.

As much as it pains me to say it as we have loved this place in the past, it was atrocious. Just a one off perhaps having taken too much on?
I understand there are new owners and note the full page spreads now appearing in Yorkshire Life. Maybe more thought needs to be given to how they treat the patrons they already have rather than trying to attract huge numbers of new customers. If it carrys on like this I can't imagine many people making a second visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Bbbbb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel was fine - comfortable room, very good breakfast. However our stay was marred by the failure of two members of staff to provide a warm welcome or good service. The two, one on reception and the other on bar duty stood out like sore thumbs for their unwelcome and slow service. The rest of the staff were friendly and efficient. I hope that the management bring the two to task as they are letting the side down!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richiemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff especially the waitress who simply couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The location is stunning. The grounds and woodland are perfect for a relaxing walk. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping staff were excellent. Unfortunately that is the end of the good points we were met by a receptionist with an attitude problem. The hotel is in a state of disrepair which is a terrible shame as this place would of been 5 star plus in the 1960s. The room we stayed in No 9 was comfy but all of it tired and dated. It was also over the bar so very noisy most of the time and we had to have our windows open all night as it was so hot which added to the noise which included the road and guests coming and going. We left after two nights minimal sleep absolutely shattered. Get a room at the back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MobyFanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Monk Fryston with our dog for 2 nights last week. We were in room 6 which is upstairs and overlooks the extensive gardens. It was quite a large room with separate bathroom and it more than suited our needs. The decor is a bit faded and, as has been noted by other contributors, it could do with being updated but don't be put off.
On arrival the staff couldn't find our room key and as the place was really busy we were taken to the bar and given complimentary drinks before going to our room.
The dining experience on our first night was a bit chaotic with a room full of guests all seemingly arriving at the same time, but the staff, although under pressure, did a magnificent job and we were soon served. The food itself was excellent and couldn't be faulted, the only downside was the room temperature - way too high and no way to cool the room down!
The next morning after a filling breakfast we explored the grounds with our dog and walked for miles through the gardens, across the small river several times, through a wood and into open countryside and circled back to the hotel. There isn't a lot in Monk Fryston itself and be aware that it on the main Selby to Leeds road which makes it busy.
The second nights dinner was a more structured affair, not as many people around but the staff still had problems fitting us into the reserved time (7:15pm) that we had asked for earlier that day, we ended up waiting for over an hour before being taken into the restaurant and we were almost the last ones out but again the food was worth waiting for.
The hotel owners have only had the place for about a year and are advertising with the discounters quite heavily according to staff so this may explain the rush at meal times, if this is going to continue to be the case they need to address the staffing issues because we heard other guests complaining amongst themselves that they wouldn't be returning. Having an insulin dependant relative I know how vital it is for diabetics to eat at regular times especially when using insulin and to expect to eat at a particular time but not to get any food for almost an hour is dangerous and could result in an emergency trip to hospital so it is essential that the restaurant staff take note of these comments (which I also told the reception staff on checking out) and at least have some nibbles available for delayed diners.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay at Monk Fryston Hall and the staffing issues were not a huge problem as we were expecting them having read previous reviews, the staff themselves were all wonderful - just a little overworked!
We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Be aware that the main rooms are on the first floor and there is no lift but they do have ground floor rooms for disabled guests. Be careful when entering your first floor room as there is a step up into the room but no warning sign, I entered the room head first!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaytripperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews