We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spent one night here.It is very characterful and olde worldy. Current owners doing a good job of the refurb which is in progress. Beautiful food and vert helpful staff. The gardens were very nice and enjoyed a walk in the woods.Set in quite a quaint village.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTI3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

hi this hotel is a lovely buiding with great gardens,but someone needs to go into the rooms and see if it works .
we ha d twin and the kettle was no where near a socket and the light switches were behind the bed.
our shower didnt work so we had to use another room and had to walk through the bar etc to get there.
the lady on reception was rude and needs training.
this hotel could be fantastic if a liitle care was given to it

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank defa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your feedback is important to us, we are about to refurbish all of the bedrooms at the hotel over the next year so items such as location of plug sockets and switches will be addressed. My apologies for the problem with the shower, as I suspected on the evening it did need replacing which was taken care of the next day. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future and we will be able to show you all of the improvements we are making at Monk Fryston Hall.
Kind Regards, Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from a very pleasant overnight stay at this lovely old hotel. It is set in beautiful grounds and has a lovely sun terrace for drinks and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful,it is also nice to find such a dog friendly hotel.The breakfast was well cooked but there could have been a better choice of fruit and cereals, we couldn't fault the service in the restauraunt at breakfast and we cannot wait to return to this great hotel.
Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakesholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. I will pass your comments onto James, our Head Chef in regards to Breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kind Regards, Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I managed to book this hotel through secret escapes web site, I managed to get the superior room and three course evening meal in with the price.

The hotel is easy to find with sat nav and on main routes. On parking up first impressions of the grounds where very good very much like a national trust property and gardens.

Interior of the hotel is good in keeping with the period of the property but perhaps looking a little dated in places.

We strolled around the Italianate gardens in the afternoon which are well kept and good for some peace and quiet and lots of nice photo opportunities. We then had some lunch, only from the bar menu as we had a large dinner to look forward to, the service and food were very impressive and the seating in the bar very comfy. We headed back outside in the gardens and enjoyed a nice cold cider in the afternoon sun.

Checking in, there seemed a bit on confusion on this but once I produced the documents I had printed off from the secret escapes email this was resolved. We were given the key to room 9 as the Concierge didn't seem to cover luggage handling I went fetch out things from the car.

The room was huge well-presented clean bright and well aired, complimentary tea/coffee and sparkling/still water. The bathroom was clean with towels in good order again well-presented but I could help but feel that it could have benefited from a feature bath which would have been in keeping with the hall/hotel.

When checking in I had made a 7pm reservation for the evening meal, we made our way down to the bar area at 6:30pm whilst passing the time a very helpful member of staff gave us the dinner menus and after considering our options took our order. The first course arrived which impressed us both then onto the main course the portions of the main course where very generous and the meat was perfectly cooked and very tasty. The wine list was well balanced and we were very pleased with our choice. The staffs were very friendly and helpful once we had finished our deserts we were asked if we would like to take our coffee in the lounge/bar area which we did.

Although only there for the evening, I would not hesitate in recommending Monk Fryston Hall Hotel to anyone the day and evening was very enjoyable and relaxing, I would note that the hotel is popular with wedding bookings and it might be an idea to check if any such event is booked on your time of vising as this might detract from your experience.

Room Tip: Room 9 was very generous size however, i did not that we were above the bar area this could be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigx75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for your review of your Bank holiday stay, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay and the gardens. Tony our Head Gardner works hard to keep them looking as nice as possible ! Room 9 is actually my personal favourite in the hotel with the big window seat. This is one of the rooms scheduled to have a feature bathroom installed at some point over the next year.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards, Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel has oodles of character, impressive gardens and an excellent restaurant. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. If you want to stay somewhere with a tangible sense of history then I would recommend this hotel. A really enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Many thanks for the feedback. Monk Fryston Hall certainly has plenty of History ! We are currently designing a new website which will include, amongst many other new features a section on the history of the property and grounds.
Kind Regards, Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great hotel find. Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. I was immediately impressed when I asked for a double room instead of twin that had been allocated though the booking system, it was changed without any fuss at all. Food was really good. Homemade chips to die for. Service in the restaurant, bar & at breakfast was really attentive. Will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thanks you for the feedback on your recent business trip. We hope to welcome you back again soon should you be working in the area.
Kind Regards, Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Would love to thank Monk Fryston Hall Hotel. We have just spent the most wonderful of weekends at this lovely hotel. Many thanks to Anna and Pauline and Katherine for handing in my wife's necklace. Also, housekeeping standards were excellent. Would like to pass on our thanks to all concerned. Mrs. Sharon Mason, the hotel owner, Thank you.
Will look forward to our return visits.
Pat and Paul Magner

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batandball2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Many Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Monk Fryston Hall. I will pass on your kind words to all concerned.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Neil Doogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
7.6 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
11.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
340 reviews
13 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
7.8 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk Fryston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing