We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night deal with Amazon Local.
Comfortable rooms lots of new plush carpets on way to bedrooms. Staff friendly and helpful but I agree with one of last reviewers perhaps another person to share the work.
Lovely grounds to wander through even saw a kingfisher by the stream.
Good value for money would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j_rylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

474 - 480 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went for afternoon tea. £13:50 a head. Dreadful is all I can say. Our whole party 24 of us, could not believe our eyes as we were served warm tea, Luke warm coffee, one tiny plate of dried up sandwiches which equated to one tiny sandwich each with no choice of fillings, a lemon mouse each served in what appeared to be any and every little glass thing they could lay their hands on (some one which you couldn't fit a teaspoon into) and half a reheated dried up scone! We complained bitterly and waited about 35 minutes for the managed to appear and say sorry but they were very busy and had a large party on the next room, who were incidentally complaining too. We left without paying and will not be returning. Our lovely afternoon spoilt!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this stay through Amazon Local which was a terrific deal.

The staff were friendly and helped me with the booking before I even arrived. The room was more than comfortable too and the free wifi was a rare treat!

At dinner, the staff again shined as their helpful service did not warrant the bargain price of the stay. The only let down was the overcooked steak (medium well not medium rare) but I did not say anything as it really was not a big deal.

I would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned from a night's stay at this hotel as part of a wedding party.

The staff were helpful and polite when you could actually get hold of someone, there just didn't seem to be enough people working there on this particular night

The building and the grounds are beautiful. It is well worth a walk around the lake/woodland at the bottom of the garden

The room was very expensive for what it was. Old worn carpet, it was literally boiling in the room despite the windows being open, 1990's 14 inch portable TV mounted to the wall.The room was very small for a double room with only about 1.5 feet around the edge of the bed, consequently nowhere to put a suitcase so kept tripping over it.

Stayed in this hotel 14 years ago and the impression i get is that the hotel hasn't had much investment since then. A bit of a shame as this hotel has the potential to be great with a little tlc

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank bayntonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our first experience to dine at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel was superb and we said we would return which we did on Friday, 18th July, and found that the meal [different menu] was again as good as the first - thank you again Chef!

Service [although different staff] could not be faulted. Staff were attentive without being instrusive and thank you to the waiter with the great sense of humour - keep it up, it was most appreciated.

Well you never know, Monk Fryston Hall Hotel may have to put up with us for another return trip !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDT0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent visits to our Restaurant. I am glad that you enjoyed your evening. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We first stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon and decided to call in for a meal on our 59th wedding anniversary last week. There was some confusion when we asked for a table for two for dnner (unbooked) but there were only twelve others in the dining room so we were allowed in. We did not want a starter so ordered a main meal. The atmosphere was glum & we noted that the carpet could have been the one there at our first visit. We waited over three quarters of an hour to be served even though there were so few other people there. When we enquired twice how long it would be, the waitress said that it was slow because we had not ordered a first course. When the food arrived it was good but not exceptional .The general impression was of a beautiful place with lovely gardens that had become dowdy and did not have any wow factor. that would make it worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MaryBakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked the hotel a couple of days before as we had made a last minute decision to visit Yorkshire to watch the first 2 days of the Tour de France.

The hotel looked stunning on the website, and we were happy to pay close to £100 for a room. On arrival we noticed that there was a wedding so were pointed to the side door and we checked in.

After having to wait for someone to check us in as there was no one on the desk. Once the receptionist arrived, he did not seem overly bothered that there were new guests. He quickly checked us in, but didn't explain about the Wifi, the restaurant, breakfast times. My husband asked what time breakfast was and was told quite bluntly that its on your room card holder. We went up to find our room, and noticed that we were next door to the Bride and Groom.

We settled down for the evening, unpacked, had showers. we noticed that there wasn't a welcome book. We watched a film on the TV but noticed the noise downstairs under the room was getting louder and louder. The hotel had put us above the wedding reception with a disco and announcements that we could hear clearly. It was getting late and we were tired. We called reception and said that we would like to change rooms. Thankfully they decided to move us after 20 minutes or so having told us that they needed to clean another room for us. With knowing there was a wedding on, why were we placed in the room above the reception when there was another room available.

We didn't know there was a wedding taking place on booking. We got dressed, packed up and were taken over to the other side of the hotel to a quieter room. The carpets in the corridor were old and frayed/ripped in many places and held together with duct tape. The room was not clean however, with hair over the bathroom floor and no towels. The manager said that he would bring us towels but we ended up having to call down for some as we had again been forgotten. The room looked like it required some attention in places but was certainly better and we slept well. It was late at this point and we were tired. There was a welcome pack in this room but no toiletries.

We went down for breakfast in the morning and had to wait until a lady said oh sorry we were talking (with other staff) and I didn't see you there. We sat down and ordered a full breakfast. My husband asked for brown sauce and they said they were out. The breakfast was fairly tasteless, made with cheap products and my husband found a hair in his scrambled eggs. The windows had cracks, the decor simple but tired and not in line with the amazing building. It is such a shame, for the price we expected so much more to this hotel. I would not visit this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MissyN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
7.6 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
11.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
13 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
2.3 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk Fryston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Price Range: £60 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing