We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and found our room comfortable. The breakfast room was beautiful. Huge great windows overlooking the grounds. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast included a good selection of fresh fruits, pastries and cereals. English breakfast very good.

Locally there is a pub offering a good choice of meals a short walk away.

No cashpoint, only local garage that charge £2.00 to withdraw cash.

Value for money stay, very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our short stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D, General Manager at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us a Monk Fryston Hall Hotel. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    191
    96
    32
    31
See reviews for
91
295
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights whilst attending the Ebor race meeting at York. Beautiful surroundings and grounds, away from the crowds and hustle of town. The staff were all both friendly and efficient.

The room was very clean and comfortable, with nice touches like a coffee plunger and pouch of good coffee as well as the standard instant, plus a tea pot for those who prefer that.

Breakfast was very good and offered a good selection We did have a bar snack one night for dinner, not quite a good as we had hoped, vegetables didn't seem that fresh or had been badly cooked which was a shame, based on the quality of the breakfast, it did let things down.

As a final note, the hotel is a beautiful old building so please bear in mind there are flights of stairs to negotiate with your luggage.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We picked up an Amazon deal for this hotel to include cream tea, dinner, B&B: we stayed 13 Aug and loved every minute. We arrived in time for tea - a large fresh baked scone with clotted cream and jam with a pot of tea - lovely. ( I went again today just for afternoon tea and saw other guests having the high tea which is a stunning three plates high, so you could not eat that and dinner too!)
We had a beautiful superior room overlooking the terrace and gardens. It was spacious and comfortable with a superking-sized bed and absolutely no noise from surrounding rooms.
I love historic buildings and this one has it all. Age, oak panelled rooms, an Italian style lake, woodland walks and peace and tranquility.
Our dinner - 3 courses was well cooked and filling. Drinks prices very reasonable and the service welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and varied - plenty of choice on the buffet to suit all tastes and the full English, cooked to order was piping hot and perfectly presented.
After breakfast we went for a leisurely walk through the woods and round the formal gardens,
Absolutely loved the experience and would recommend this venue for its service, style, historic ambience and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night deal with Amazon Local.
Comfortable rooms lots of new plush carpets on way to bedrooms. Staff friendly and helpful but I agree with one of last reviewers perhaps another person to share the work.
Lovely grounds to wander through even saw a kingfisher by the stream.
Good value for money would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_rylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went for afternoon tea. £13:50 a head. Dreadful is all I can say. Our whole party 24 of us, could not believe our eyes as we were served warm tea, Luke warm coffee, one tiny plate of dried up sandwiches which equated to one tiny sandwich each with no choice of fillings, a lemon mouse each served in what appeared to be any and every little glass thing they could lay their hands on (some one which you couldn't fit a teaspoon into) and half a reheated dried up scone! We complained bitterly and waited about 35 minutes for the managed to appear and say sorry but they were very busy and had a large party on the next room, who were incidentally complaining too. We left without paying and will not be returning. Our lovely afternoon spoilt!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this stay through Amazon Local which was a terrific deal.

The staff were friendly and helped me with the booking before I even arrived. The room was more than comfortable too and the free wifi was a rare treat!

At dinner, the staff again shined as their helpful service did not warrant the bargain price of the stay. The only let down was the overcooked steak (medium well not medium rare) but I did not say anything as it really was not a big deal.

I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned from a night's stay at this hotel as part of a wedding party.

The staff were helpful and polite when you could actually get hold of someone, there just didn't seem to be enough people working there on this particular night

The building and the grounds are beautiful. It is well worth a walk around the lake/woodland at the bottom of the garden

The room was very expensive for what it was. Old worn carpet, it was literally boiling in the room despite the windows being open, 1990's 14 inch portable TV mounted to the wall.The room was very small for a double room with only about 1.5 feet around the edge of the bed, consequently nowhere to put a suitcase so kept tripping over it.

Stayed in this hotel 14 years ago and the impression i get is that the hotel hasn't had much investment since then. A bit of a shame as this hotel has the potential to be great with a little tlc

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank bayntonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monk Fryston
7.1 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hazlewood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
9.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
11.1 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monk Fryston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Property: Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Monk Fryston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing