We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Northallerton

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Northallerton
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Northallerton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$24
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Love going to Betty's. Its always a good experience. The afternoon tea is to die for. Fat rascals are quite the experience... save room or take one away :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    132
    62
    34
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A cut above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The best toasted tea cake I have ever had. Melted in the mouth. Beautiful setting. Great service. Shame about the price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minsterboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirribilli, Australia
Level Contributor
448 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Nicest Betty's experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Some how this one had brighter atmosphere, nicer staff, fresher food, than the one in harrogate. You pay a premium for the Betty's experience, at least it was worth it here. We definitely don't go for the Swiss experience (as we live in Switzerland) but are nonetheless less amused by the Swiss dishes and wine on the menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Not just a meal, it's an expeience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had just decided that we had waited long enough by the "please wait to be seated" sign (that's the reason I only give four stars for service) when a very pleasant young waitress came and showed us a couple of tables to chose from. After that, everything was brilliant, and to be fair, the maîtresse d' did appear shortly afterwards as the lunchtime queue began to form.
Service is professional, efficient, and politely friendly. Proper tablecloths, real old style china and silverware. A discreet buzz of conversation. Well spaced tables.
Our teas and drinks arrived promptly, but the food is obviously cooked to order. I chose chicken Caesar salad, which was a delicious surprise. A very fresh salad with hot goujons of chicken breast wrapped in tasty bacon, obviously straight from the grill, they even had a slight barbecue taste.
Go for a 1919 experience at 2014 prices, go for the food, but don't go for a quick meal, you need to linger to get the full enjoyment.
As we left though the shop, we bought a selection of cakes to take home with us, not cheap, but very much appreciated by all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3xGrandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We went for afternoon mid-week as we know Bettys is a popular venue, we arrived just after lunch time and had to queue and wait for about 10 minutes which was fine. We were greeted and seated by a lovely friendly waitress who sat us down and showed us the menu. We knew we wanted the afternoon tea and selected the Bettys afternoon tea to go with it. The tea and afternoon tea all came out together which we had requested. The bread for the sandwiches was really soft, we had a selection of white and brown bread with chicken mayonnaise, egg mayonnaise, ham and roast beef all of which were very tasty. We had a scone with clotted cream and jam. The selection of cakes were beautifully presented and tasted delicious. Cannot fault the service or the food quality, will certainly be back again to try a breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica8631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Northallerton also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Hutton Magna, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Northallerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing