We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Northallerton
strood kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights in May found the staff very helpfull from front desk to bar an restaurant nothing was to much trouble.(happly sorted milk in a jug for making coffee in room)
Had room 24 which was at the front of Hotel an classed as a twin this is a large room with a bath/shower/loo.
Whilst at the front off the hotel did not find any problems sleeping.
Locations great being slap bang in the main high street, means its got a M&S food court and several bakerys on its doorstep if you fancy a snack.
Restaurant was great £12.99 for 2 courses both were tasty an well cooked chef.
Large free car park at rear of hotel.
I will happly book again Thank you TO THE STAFF OF THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Room 24 Large at front off hotel but you get to look out into the high street which at night was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acebiker800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    120
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
50
101
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I managed to get a late room and it was superb. I have stayed here many years ago and it was nice to return. I found the hotel very comfortable and clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious! I will definately stay again when I return to the area. Thanks for a nice stay.

Room Tip: A room towards the rear of the hotel doesn't provide a view as such, but it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As soon as we entered this hotel we experienced the most relaxing atmosphere nothing too much trouble and always with a smile. The room was at the front of the hotel and was very large as was the bathroom. The food is to die for the chef or chefs must be amazing. We only stayed the one night but the staff made us feel as though they had known us for years. Definitely 10 out of 10 from me and my husband.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a nice view. This overlooked the main street but was quiet. The room num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Although we are frequent visitors to Northallerton this was only our second stay at the Golden Lion. We have popped in for meals and/or drinks on many occasions when visiting our son and his family in Northallerton but have never stayed there until recently. Although it is classed as a hotel it has all the benefits of a town centre pub. On Saturdays and Wednesdays you can step out of the front entrance and walk just a few feet to the many market stalls that line the High street on market days. When tired of that and all else the town has to offer you can retreat back to to the comfort of you your room and prepare yourself for an excellent meal in the restaurant. Afterwards you can move to the lounge and relax on one of the large leather seats in front of the log fire. The perfect combination of hotel and pub with friendly, caring staff, excellent food and good ale

Room Tip: If you like the sounds of a market being set up early in the morning then choose the rooms at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this on a last minute website and was pleasantly surprised with the comfort in an old fashioned type hotel. Bedrooms are accessed by stairs and are very comfortable with all the extras you'd expect in your room. They are renovating at the moment. The restaurant was closed so dinner was in the bar which wasn't a problem for me. This hotel is situated on the main road but has a big car park at the rear which is free to residents.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had to book this hotel very last minute. Reservation staff were professional over the phone and on arrival the same again. All the staff we came across whether it was reception, bar or restaurant couldnt do enough for us. My parents are elderly and they showed such genuine kindness. The rooms were very comfortable and the hotel itself suberb. It was spotlessly clean in all areas and the breakfast was beautiful too. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riatbernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNDERLAND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a great overnight stay.
Very comfortable with a fantastic breakfast.
Nice comfortable bar with a brilliant pint of real ale called copper dragon.
Wouldn't think twice about staying again
Northallerton is a nice village to stay and I has a market on Wednesdays

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunderlandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northallerton
0.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.1 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
8.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porch House
Porch House
#3 of 23 in Northallerton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 114 High Street, Northallerton DL7 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Northallerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing