We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allerton Court Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Allerton Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northallerton
Callander, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Enjoyed a couple of nights here last year, so thought we would book in for 4 nights this time. Happily nothing has changed from last year. staff very friendly, can't do enough to help and advise. Service was top notch, food excellent and housekeeping fast and efficient. I couldn't praise this hotel more. will definitely come again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    76
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
61
73
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I visited the Allerton Court last week for 2 days on business. I travelled with 2 colleagues, so we had 3 rooms. My room, unlike my colleagues only had a shower, they had bathtubs, so be sure to ask for a room with a bath if that’s what you want. The shower was a most unusual arrangement with two fixed screens at right angles to each other, leaving a gap for you to get in. If you are on the portly side (more portly than me) then you may struggle to get in. The toilet flush was a little slow and needed a couple of attempts. The room itself was nicely decorated with pleasant colours and the TV was of an adequate size with plenty of channels. Free Wi-Fi was a bonus and it was quite fast, so I could catch up on my e-mails in the room. Also provided was Tea and Coffee etc along with a trouser press, iron and ironing board. A small table and two chairs in addition to the work-desk and chair.
The bed was older than most and not as comfortable as most, but did the job. Plenty of pillows. The hotel has a small bar with two large plasma screens showing sports events and a small 20 seater restaurant. We ate one evening in the restaurant, the service was good and the food was OK, more like you would expect in a pub but nothing to complain about. Breakfast is freshly prepared and if you have the full breakfast you get plenty of everything. I like a newspaper in the morning but none were available, however a petrol station is almost next door to the hotel and after a short stroll I had my newspaper.
This hotel is a good quality business hotel and I would use it again but hext time would ask for a room with a bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 4 times now and are always very pleased with the service provided. We do pay a little extra to have a ground floor room as I understand some on the upper level are in need of refurbishment. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and the bathroom fresh and modern. The bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was waitress service and well presented. The evening meal we had was delicious and very reasonably priced. We will be staying here again on our next visit.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked one night and we were not disappointed.
The room had a flat screen tv, a trouser press, ironing board, free wifi, 3 chairs, refreshment tray, plenty of storage space, and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
The breakfast was buffet style for fruit/cereals/tea/coffee, with a waitress taking orders for a cooked breakfast from a variety of choices.
A large car park.

Room Tip: We had room 19. It was on the ground floor at the end of a corridor, with no disturbances
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The location is good not right in the centre but close enough. The rooms are decent but the pink bathrooms terribly dated. The whole place could use some updating. The rooms are a fair bit more expensive than the b&bs in town so I had expected a little better. My main grumble was the lack of air con. It was 25 degrees (warm but no heat wave) the day we stayed and at night we were way too hot. It did not help that we had no sheets just a very heavy winter weight duvet. The breakfast was very good however.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights over a weekend, friendly staff, clean rooms, breakfast choice okay, self service on Sunday's but staff at tables on Monday. Had an evening meal which could have been better, think chips were frozen. Good location, made us choose this hotel. Nice gardens and play area for children. Very quiet when we were there, only us for breakfast one morning.

Room Tip: Rooms were on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Due to late booking I wasn't able to stay at my usual B&B and this was first, and last visit to the Allerton Court. For the price charged the local B&Bs offer better quality and value for money. My room was furnished with a pink bathroom suite from the 1950s with a disgusting shower curtain and dirty looking tiles on the floor and walls. This hotel looks modern and clean in photos in reality it's a sad hotel which require the owners to spend some profits bringing into the 21st century.
No 24hr room service, mini bar or air-con....for the money charged these should be a given.

The breakfast was appalling, no staff bothered to ask if I wanted anything cooked that wasn't sitting hard as rock in the heaters. They do a nice fresh orange juice!

For families and anyone who likes clean and comfortable and value for money, I suggest booking a local B&B which won't disappoint.

The only good thing is this hotels proximity to the A1 and shops in Northallerton.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chcc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northallerton
0.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.6 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
13.2 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
8.9 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerton Court Hotel

Property: Allerton Court Hotel
Address: Northallerton, DL6 2XF, Northallerton DL6 2XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northallerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Allerton Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Allerton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton Court Hotel Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing