We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome. Nothing was too much trouble”
Review of Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan House
Ranked #8 of 23 Northallerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcome. Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were one of the other couples for the surprise weekend trip and how I wish we could have stopped over with our friends. We couldn't because at the time of booking, Swan House was full. Christine and John were the most amazing hosts and the roast dinner was probably the best I'd had for as long as I can remember. The place is a labour of love - immaculately clean with great facilities whether you are staying in one of the beautiful rooms (we went in one to look) or the attached caravan field. We had such a laugh with the locals on the karaoke. We will definitely go back and stay with John and Christine at this wonderful Guest House.

Room Tip: We didn't stay over but we did go in room 1 which was averaged sized but lovely decor and except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori_millard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
65
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Met some friends doing the coast to coast staying at the Swan House, straight away we knew we should have booked in here too. John and Christine sorted the complete night out for a surprise visit by ourselves and 4 others. The food was excellent and service second to none, throughout the evening there was live music from what can only be described as semi professional singers. We will be booking to get back there and make good use of there flawless facilities.
Thanks
Les & Cheryl

Room Tip: Only went into room 1 I expect all room to be similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riiiiiiiippedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay over May Bank Holiday weekend and cannot praise this site highly enough. Owner's are very friendly, even helping us to put up our awning as we are new to caravanning. They work extremely hard and Swan House is a credit to them. Showers and toilets are immaculate. We will definitely be back. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay at Swan House with our two young grandchildren and their Dad who walked the c2c - what a delightful welcome, beautiful rooms with all the trimmings, a super breakfast and so reasonable in price. Mr and Mrs Beckwick could not have been more helpful and we will certainly recommend a stay at their beautiful b&b to everyone.

Room Tip: If you want a clean friendly b&b this is the one, and the bar on site is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just returned from a 2 night weekend stay at Swan House our 1st visit but not our last.
A warm welcome given by John & Christine.
The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean, a nice hot shower was more than welcome after a day out.
Only 10 mins outside Northallerton where we visited relatives for the weekend.
plenty of places to visit within easy reach, we recommend Richmond.
A great location to visit nearby towns.
Breakfast was hot and very delicious and plenty of it, Christine helped us with where to visit, also making sure we had everything we required.
Put a note in your diary to contact Swan House to book a reservation and a warm and very friendly stay.

Room Tip: Our first visit but do recommend room 1, perfect for couples young or old, But we are sure all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We have just had our wedding reception here and John and Christine went above and beyond to help us, they gave us a great party. We and some guests stayed the night the rooms are very comfortable and stylish and have all the mod cons and are decorated to a very high standard They gave us a great breakfast in the morning and we will be staying there again in the near future. 5 star rating

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie33WildTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for work for 3 nights. As a young single guest I have never felt so welcome. I had an early start and was left instant porridge for the mornings, very welcome as it was - 5 that week! Very helpful owners. Very comfortable and clean. Could relax after a nice hot shower. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phomoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northallerton
7.9 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
285 reviews
8.1 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
281 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
862 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
481 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Wellington Heifer
The Wellington Heifer
#4 of 23 in Northallerton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan House

Property: Swan House
Address: Trenholme Bar, Northallerton DL6 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Northallerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan House Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing