We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok ish”
Review of Black Bull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Bull
Ranked #19 of 23 Northallerton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice room, thats it. Rough lads pub. Try the Golden Lion a few yards down the street, different world there for a few quid more. If you want a nights sleep stay somewhere else. Been there forgotten it so should you. New locks needed, we had to fight to get into our room. Locksmith ' coming tomorrow' followed no doubt by the cleaner, yeah right.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed at The Black Bull for 2 nights from Jan 24th.Our stay was enjoyable from start to finish. Our room was very clean throughout with a king size bed.The breakfast was fine and the staff were all very courteous.Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

You thought Faulty Towers was bad!
Music was full on and so load even after 1am. When that finally stopped the clubs around started letting people out and the noise was just as bad. At 5 in the morning the street cleaners started. This is the worst place we have ever strayed at and I have travelled a lot!!! To top it all we came home infested with Flippen bed bugs!!! Had to put sheets etc in local tip and buy a new bed and mattress. Please be aware of the breakfast!

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank PJdmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the black bull for 1 night 27 dec A nice welcome from staff on arrival Room was was spotless A little bit noise during the night, no more than you would expect on any high st at xmas. Breakfast served by a very pleasent chef. i would stay at the black bull again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan1948sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here on business trip. The welcome on arrival was ok, Rooms were very clean and spacious, good quality bedding. The room suffered from excessive noise from the manager and his dog in the room above. Street noise of the marketing setting up at 3.30am. Breakfast was totally non existant not a sole around to assist. The morning was a complete disaster unable to gain access to the dining area all locked, eventually after a considerable amount of time the cleaner arrived for her days work and tried to help with little success. After a further delay the manager arrived gave some excuses. Eventually gave him some money for the stay but not what was asked, could go on and on, this place needs to learn customer service.

Room Tip: "Rooms at the rear less noisy noisy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

High street in a North Yorkshire Market Town ! Think back to the the 19th century and then the Mail Coach stopping over for the night and you have to find a room in one of the Hostelries in the High street, then as now don't expect too much ! A warm welcome, good beer a clean bed and a good breakfast can all be had at the Black Bull for a modest fee by today's standard.
As has been noted in previous reviews, it can be noisy so take your earplugs if you want to turn in before midnight.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr_walker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for a last minute business trip. Got a twin room for £55 including breakfast which was very good value.

Room was large and clean with lovely soft towels. Shower wasn't very powerful so this took longer than normal.

During the night there were a regular stream of revellers shouting which did disturb my sleep. If it's for one night I wouldn't worry but longer breaks maybe a problem.

Staff were friendly and efficient, so all in all an acceptable place to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank GavT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northallerton
0.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
314 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
510 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#11 of 14 in Bedale
93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull

Address: 101 High Street, Northallerton DL7 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Northallerton
Price Range: £54 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Black Bull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing