We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horseshoe Inn

The Horseshoe Inn
Ranked #13 of 85 Restaurants in Northallerton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Horseshoe Inn is a small 300 year old village pub located in the village of West Rounton in North Yorkshire. We provide a friendly warm atmosphere with excellent food and real ales. All of our food is freshly prepared by our Chef who has a reputation for producing traditional wholesome food using locally sourced produce. Our menu frequently changes and there are always 'Weekly Specials' on the blackboard along with a Starter and Dessert menu. Being situated in North Yorkshire we are lucky to be located in an area rich with excellent local produce. This is reflected in our menu’s that change seasonally enabling us to use ingredients when they are at there best. We offer a selection of meals to cater to most tastes including vegetarian meals. At The Horseshoe Inn we believe in keeping the menu simple but varied, this ensures that all the food is fresh and at its best.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Visited with a group of friends, 15 of us in total on Sunday for lunch after a spot of Clay Pigeon Shooting. We had a room all to ourselves and enjoyed a fantastic Sunday lunch, plenty of food, good quality and excellent service - it rounded off a perfect day

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    13
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wingate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We chose this restaurant because of the good reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The Inn is quite small but that adds to it's charm. The food is excellent and well worth a visit. Booking is recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our first visit was for sunday lunch and we couldn't fault our meal, lots of veg and plenty of choice. Unfortunately our second visit for evening meal was a complete contrast. There was hardly any veg and a poor choice, we asked for some more but it was still a stretch to go round. The puddings were also poor with a sundae arriving as ice cream with a dribble of sauce. Also half our party received theirs 10 minutes before the rest did. Overall I was very surprised by our second visit and disappointed as this was not what I was expecting. I would have said something at the time but didn't want to make the rest of our party or other customers feel uncomfortable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Lily1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely quaint pub,ambience great, food was excellent, best lamb shank ever had, service was tip top, proprieters warm and welcoming. Clean and friendly establishment. The only negativity was the tables were too crammed in, not much room between tables. Would visit again and recommend the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simply Sublime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Booked a table for 4 two weeks ago for 7.30pm, arrived the place was heaving! We had to wait an hour for our table, but it was worth the wait.....food was sublime, I had the fish and chips in a vodka tonic batter, the fish was thick and the batter minimal which was excellent, normally the other way round. Menu was delicious, every item on there I could have had a taster of, Chef came out and talked to us, he worked alone and served over 50 meals ....well done Horsehoe, will deffo be back, one of the best nights out had in a long time, with the company, food and venue!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyWard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horseshoe Inn also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Horseshoe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing