We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate B&B (with dinner available)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartforth Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This place is magical. The driveway to the house with the arching trees and the church stone arch is like entering a time tunnel to at least a century ago when the Rear Admiral had the house. This is not really like a hotel; more like staying in a spectacular family home. Hunting trophies such as stag heads adorn the back staircase, with stunning stone fireplaces and family coats of arms. Set away from almost anything apart from the sheep, and in the distance charging cows, this is peaceful and picturesque. Staying here was an honour. The main negative for us is that the beautiful four poster bed reminded us of being under canvas (camping)!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hartforth Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

This Hotel is a hidden gem, just get away and relax, Anne and David were so lovely, they made us feel at home, and anything we wanted was no touble for them. our room was just to die for, 20 foot ceilings, felt like royalty, the staff was a lovely girl who showed us around the hall, breakfast was mmmm, little things in our room made it feel cozy, lots of country life magazines , and other finishing touches. Keep up the good work, would recommend and certainly come again. Bernadette and Alan.

Room Tip: Just turn up and enjoy the peaceful surrounding, like we did.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy39254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Time present and time past combined perfectly in this special place.
Beautiful surroundings, delicious food, excellent service and wonderful hospitality.

An experience I intend to repeat as often as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Driving up to this beautiful house l wasn;t disappointed when we walked into the hall, beautiful charming rooms,
David and Anne where very warm and welcomed us. David showed us around the great rooms.
Room was a little small but very clean, bedding was excellant quality.
Dinner was very good with good selection of wines, and well kept ale.
Customer service is second to none here, owners and waitress are friendly but professional in there duties.... will be staying again very soon... JI

Room Tip: l would go for the corner suites next time l stay.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

From start to finish the hosts and staff tendered to our every need. We felt so relaxed and we had a really good time. We highly recommend this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanking you. janice and kevin Priestley from worksop.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priestleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent an overnight stay here to celebrate a special birhday. The driveway to the Hall was simply enchanting which opened up to some spectacular views. On arrival the owners of 25 years gave us a warm and friendly welcome, they were the kind of people you talk about years down the line. They shared some truly amazing stories of the Hall and the people who had spent time here. The room was quaint like a step back in time. Sadly we didnt have dinner at the Hall however the bar area in the evening had real character with a fabulous large screen TV. The breakfast was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anybody, it was more than value for money and It made a birthday treat into a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 950Helen_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My partner Karen and I stayed here overnight on the way to Scotland.
The owners were very welcoming and a lovely couple. The Hall was beautiful and has been kept to the origional standard which is the way it should be. This is a beautiful building that modernisation would destroy its character.
Breakfast in the morning was very good and kept us both going as we continued our journey north where we shall visit another beautiful place, Dumfries House.
We both shall be returning to Hartforth Hall again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramitinbawdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
798 reviews
3.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
247 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartforth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartforth Hall Hotel

Address: Gilling West, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL10 5JU, Richmond DL10 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartforth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hartforth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartforth Hall
Hartforth Hall Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing