We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tranquil relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartforth Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
wakefield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil relaxing break”
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We went for christmas 2008, my family and my mother, we had a lovely time, really enjoyed it.
The setting was perfect in middle of nowhere, it snowed while we there.
The hotel was peaceful friendly and very clean and tidy, our room was lovely and big with fantastic views.
The hotel put on a murder mystery night and a new year party.
It was really enjoyable.
The only fault was it was so cold outside that the hotel never seemed to get warm, so it was rather cold, most of the time.
The management and staff were really lovely.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — The cold
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    59
    15
    11
    28
See reviews for
26
100
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We had been to Hartforth Hall once before, about 18 months ago. It was quite pleasant then and the weather, of course, was warm. The evenings were fun with board games in the drawing room. The surroundings were - and are - stunning. It is a beautiful property.
We decided to return for four days this week. We pre booked the 'Edward and Mrs Simpson stayed here' best suite, with an extra room for our son. We discovered that another couple had been told the same story about their room! We were asked to pay for the 'package' in full on arrival. Rather unusual. The room we had was freezing, and one of the radiators was 'not working'. When challenged, they made it work for a couple of evenings then it mysteriously stopped working again. The heating was turned off most of the day and part of the night - and in our son's room where he turned the radiators up high, the maids turned them back down again every day. It felt like Rising Damp, or guerrilla warfare.
The menu was awful, a real disappointment, the food pre-bought and heated up, and stayed the same for four days (except that what looked like Iceland mini-chocolate eclairs were served as profiteroles on some days and eclairs on others). The soup was tinned. We were asked, very sweetly, if we wanted starters and puds, but they were £4 each on top of the £12.50 main course (described as an 'evening meal') which was included in the price. The portions of the main course were so tiny you had to have the other courses anyway. On leaving we were presented with a bill for extras of over £130, of which almost £100 was the starters and puddings.
We tried to order the cream tea on the room service menu but they had no scones. Perfectly acceptable cake and tea though. Chess was much enjoyed after dinner, as before. We asked to use the pool table and were shown to a freezing cold room in an unused block, with a pool table which was missing one of the yellow balls and the black ball. A bit of a challenge, that!
The overall impression is that they were either extremely mean, or struggling financially, or perhaps both. What a pity. It's such a lovely place.

  • Liked — The fantastic position and the house itself
  • Disliked — The chilly room and poor food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhineasSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

This was my mothers 70th our group consisted of 12.Unfortunately we had the misfortune of having words with MRS JOHNSON the food was cold,everthing was covered in sauce to the point you could hardly find the scallops or mushrooms.Service was so slow that when the last dish arrived the first delivery was finished there were no more guests at this time.We requested 4 proffiteroles but only one available so as a compromise we requested 2 cheeses she said that would be 5.50 each we were shocked we explained that we had paid for a 3 course meal but had only received 2 courses so surely we would be entitled to some sort of refund she refused.This is the worst customer service i have ever encounted she was rude aggressive totally unable to make any sort of compromise and her people skills were non existent Mrs Johnsons only thoughts were money!!Her attitude ruined my mums special day Also to slice the cake she requested £1.00 each per slice!!!

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tildalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Nice building,lovely location and our room was very good(best in house). However, the rather "self-imagined superior" and surly owners don't really want guests - just their money. Forget the lovely wedgewood dining room(for special events), those on "bargain breaks" (everyone) have to dine in the dreary breakfast room - no cloths, and second hand ex-pub(still with their numbers on) tables. The breakfast buffet is basic and unappetising. The bargain £12.50 dinner (one course and coffee)bookable in advance, otherwise an additional £2 is charged, is no bargain at all. It is the same menu every night and what is on offer is based on cheap food,i.e sausage and mash,liver etc. If you wanted something better there were other items for which you paid several pounds extra.
In their brochure you are invited to tell the management if you are unhappy about anything. When we complained about the poor value we were met with rudeness and told that we were unwelcome in the dining room, and that we should go out and get a cheap pub meal!
Those guests who wanted a morning paper were required to go down to the village and order it themselves. Not the greatest experience of a lifetime. We rather feel that Basil & Sybil Fawlty could learn a thing or two from the owner/managers of this hotel.
Old school they may be but charm school they are not

  • Liked — The building and location
  • Disliked — The rude and surly owners/management
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lamcoppice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.2 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
7.2 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#5 of 21 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.4 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartforth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartforth Hall Hotel

Property: Hartforth Hall Hotel
Address: Gilling West, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL10 5JU, Richmond DL10 5JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartforth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hartforth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartforth Hall
Hartforth Hall Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing