We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchgate Guest House
Ranked #23 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Guest House”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband I arrived at Frenchgate Guest House with a friendly welcome from the owner Ralph, we had arrived early however Ralph still let us check in. Our room was beautiful, it room 4 and the views were amazing. The room was immaculate, very clean, decorated to a very high standard, there was plenty of tea/coffee and milk. We were very impressed to the attention to detail including the chocolate by the bedside. We both loved the breakfast, tasted excellent, Ralph couldn't do enough for us. You eat in the conservatory and the views whilst eating your breakfast are outstanding, perfect way to start your day. I highly recommend coming to Frenchgate Guest House, its a perfect getaway whilst being looked after by Ralph. Thank you Ralph for being the perfect host, we will definitely be returning xxxx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRANDMRSTRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    16
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
44
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at frenchgate guest house, the rooms were immaculate and high quality finish; beds were very comfortable and we had facilities to make drinks.
The breakfast was of very high standard with a view that only a painter could create; stunning views over the whole valley. Certainly the best placed B&B in richmond and clearly high quality.
The manager was helpful and very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxing.
This was a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The view alone is worth the £39 pp. Ralph the owner is very helpful and very friendly. We were in a group of 6 muddy cyclists and looking back wish I'd offered to Hoover up after us. The location and service is second to none. Breakfast is first class also. Thanks for having us Ralph.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Rooms excellent, food excellent, views excellent, bike storage excellent, dont go anywhere else your search stops here.Nice one Ralph thanks from the Nissan lads........would definitely stop there again. Ralph the owner takes a lot of pride in his work and makes you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steviebellnissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

this was a late booking for two people for single rooms for Richmond walking festival ,didn't know what to expect but we were delighted when we saw our rooms . the rooms were lovely with every thing we needed big comfortable beds good hospitality trays with tea , coffee, hot choc, biscuits and bottles of water. the views from dinning room were stunning.lovely garden with decking and pond which you can see whilst having breakfast. good breakfast too . the shower was powerful and bathroom had every thing we needed . the owner is very friendly and keeps every thing lovely and clean . wouldn't hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northeastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic room (#4) and view. The room was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room/lounge had a fantastic view out over the surrounding plains.
Our host was very friendly and helpful, a knowledgeable walker himself. Top B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The guest house is comfy and the food ok but the hospitality of the owner leaves a lot to be desired. I was staying there for one night (the night before my wedding) and having reserved 5 rooms for the rest of my grooms party all but one phoned up to book their room to find he had given them to other customers. As such my best man was also staying there but the morning of the wedding saw the problems begin. One of my grooms party had flown in from Switzerland and was given a telling off for arriving to put on his tails in my room! As if that was bad enough the owner would then not let us have a glass of champagne on the terrace in the sunshine as he didn't want us hanging around drinking. If we had been 10 lads in football shirts drinking Stella all day I could have seen his point but it was one glass of champagne on my wedding day. The guy is plain weird and the place is very much the modern fawlty towers. I'd never stay there again! And the shower didn't work!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RalphRichmond, Owner at Frenchgate Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Very sorry that the arrangements turned out badly for you, was not my intention. I like to make people happy, not annoyed, motivated to writing destructive comments on their honeymoon.

You rang to book your party in which was Ok, sadly you would not act as security for them with your credit card details, therefore I held the rooms for a week as agreed, giving them all time to individually ring up and firm up the bookings. One person did but the others did not ring for over ten days later, by that time the word must have got round and other people booked with me, but I did hold the rooms initially.

You should have trusted your friends and acted as security for the all the reservation.

I need to know generally who is in the bed and breakfast for security and that if you have other friends coming in to see you , its polite and normal in England to tell the owner, very sorry you did not understand that. I did not tell him off at all, I expressed surprise that he was to use your room as changing room without telling me, your room was for you and I charged you accordingly, for single occupation. Later there was many people in your room

There was other major problems when you asked for a 10.30 am breakfast and implied that you wanted to be in the room till your wedding at 2.30pm for changing purposes. My check out time is 10 am and i agreed you could stay till 11am and have breakfast at nine. Leave your bags with your friend and change in another room later on.

At 10.55 you were still in the room with five others and asked if you could drink champagne on the terrace, you were making no effort to vacate your room and the room needed to changed for other guests due to arrive in few hours time, check out time is just what it says check out time.

We have a Duty of Care in England, the hand rails on the 15 metre high terrace are not complete and I have a 3 metre deep pond, I explained the former to you and by this time more bottles of champagne had appeared, (so much for your comment about one glass,) more lads had appeared and I was concerned about what might happen, on the terrace. Even if people want to go into an unsafe situation, you cannot allow people to harm themselves , even if they say it will be OK.

All this was about to happen, well after your check out time.

I'am a normal caring guy who wants to look after people and create the right environment for my guests to enjoy themselves, I'am not weird and everything works including the shower. You have attempted to damage my business, premeditated, coldly, callously, without a thought for the impact you may have on my life, what an awful thing to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.5 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#6 of 51 in Richmond
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#16 of 51 in Richmond
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchgate Guest House

Property: Frenchgate Guest House
Address: 66 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchgate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing