We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the town, top B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchgate Guest House
Ranked #23 of 52 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ralph's lovely house has a fantastic situation with wonderful views down over Richmond, the castle, even Easby Abbey. If you take a photo off his balcony (just outside the stunning room where you eat breakfast) then it comes out looking like one of those calendar pictures you'd send to your cousins in the US. It really is that fine, and that English.

And so, indeed, is Ralph, a quintessentially charming host. He's running a lovely place here and we were very comfortable.

Others have remarked on the slightly quirky architecture ... we had the little suite with two rooms (didn't need both, it was just a nice room we were offered) and there is indeed something unusual about where its bathroom is, up a short flight of stairs and round a corner, but it's very nice when you get there. Fitting extra facilities into a nice old house like this must always be a bit of a challenge and I suspect that this is just a symptom of that - I couldn't even, from looking at the very classy exterior, work out where this would all fit in.

We broke our C2C trip by having an extra night here, giving us a very worthwhile day off in the fine town of Richmond. Frenchgate turned out to be the perfect place to do this - comfy, welcoming and a really terrific spot from which to appreciate Richmond. Ralph does excellent breakfasts but not dinner; Richmond, however, has restaurants aplenty - you won't starve. For one dinner we wandered till we found a nice place and for the other we took Ralph's recommendation, Piazza 2 - a hit!

We had some great packed lunches on our walk but the one from here was really a winner - very nice, very interesting food, all beautifully presented. You still felt looked-after ages after you'd left.

All in all we strongly recommend Frenchgate Guest House for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband I arrived at Frenchgate Guest House with a friendly welcome from the owner Ralph, we had arrived early however Ralph still let us check in. Our room was beautiful, it room 4 and the views were amazing. The room was immaculate, very clean, decorated to a very high standard, there was plenty of tea/coffee and milk. We were very impressed to the attention to detail including the chocolate by the bedside. We both loved the breakfast, tasted excellent, Ralph couldn't do enough for us. You eat in the conservatory and the views whilst eating your breakfast are outstanding, perfect way to start your day. I highly recommend coming to Frenchgate Guest House, its a perfect getaway whilst being looked after by Ralph. Thank you Ralph for being the perfect host, we will definitely be returning xxxx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRANDMRSTRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at frenchgate guest house, the rooms were immaculate and high quality finish; beds were very comfortable and we had facilities to make drinks.
The breakfast was of very high standard with a view that only a painter could create; stunning views over the whole valley. Certainly the best placed B&B in richmond and clearly high quality.
The manager was helpful and very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxing.
This was a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The view alone is worth the £39 pp. Ralph the owner is very helpful and very friendly. We were in a group of 6 muddy cyclists and looking back wish I'd offered to Hoover up after us. The location and service is second to none. Breakfast is first class also. Thanks for having us Ralph.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Rooms excellent, food excellent, views excellent, bike storage excellent, dont go anywhere else your search stops here.Nice one Ralph thanks from the Nissan lads........would definitely stop there again. Ralph the owner takes a lot of pride in his work and makes you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steviebellnissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

this was a late booking for two people for single rooms for Richmond walking festival ,didn't know what to expect but we were delighted when we saw our rooms . the rooms were lovely with every thing we needed big comfortable beds good hospitality trays with tea , coffee, hot choc, biscuits and bottles of water. the views from dinning room were stunning.lovely garden with decking and pond which you can see whilst having breakfast. good breakfast too . the shower was powerful and bathroom had every thing we needed . the owner is very friendly and keeps every thing lovely and clean . wouldn't hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northeastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic room (#4) and view. The room was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room/lounge had a fantastic view out over the surrounding plains.
Our host was very friendly and helpful, a knowledgeable walker himself. Top B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#14 of 52 in Richmond
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 52 in Richmond
230 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Inn Hotel
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchgate Guest House

Address: 66 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: £65 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchgate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing