We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchgate Guest House
Ranked #22 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place To Stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wow, what an incredible outlook from both our room and the breakfast room. Very comfortable, very friendly with good breakfast. Really enjoyed our stay and would higly recommend this B & B. Richmond itself is a delightful little old town and well worth a look.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    16
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
44
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed A one night stay in the Napoli suit in March 2014, the room facilities were excellent very clean and comfortable (definitely worth the upgrade). The hosts were very welcoming and food was excellent. Overall a wonderful romantic break will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beckimilner1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Firstly, thank you Ralph for making our anniversary weekend so special when we stayed in your beautiful home. The free room upgrade you gave us upon booking when I informed you of the occassion was an unexpected delight. "Superb" is the only way to describe the comfort and elegance of that room. But when you go into the breakfast room with the magnificent views
stretching out for miles it really does take your breath away. Next time we come to Richmond there
is only one place for us and that is 66 frenchgate.
PS thanks for printing of the walk in gunnerside it was excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJL191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked this last minute when we managed to snag tickets for the theatre earlier in the week.
We arrived a little early but it wasnt a trouble, the welcome was warm & friendly. The owner, Mr Doy is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The guest house gives you easy access to all that Richmond has to offer and is 5 minutes walk from the Market Square. Parking was relatively easy enough and we didnt need to move the car all weekend.
The room we had was lovely. The views alone were stunning, right across the river to Easby and if you looked towards the far right across the rooftops, there was Richmond Castle.
I loved the silver, cream and white theme, very restful.We had a white fireplace and an electric fire too, but the room was snug enough! Bed was comfy (we slept like logs) and power shower was hot.
Breakfast was filling, we opted for a cooked one but there is plenty to choose from before you have that! Yoghurt, fruit, cereals, scones, butter, jam, pastries, prunes, grapefruit plus a jug of fresh orange. If you want a banana or an apple as well, they're there too! Plenty toast, hot coffee and Yorkshire Tea.
The views from the breakfasting lounge are again breathtaking. You would never tire of that view whatever the season
This gentleman has a lovely, well kept home.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

After a long Jouney by Train with my 3 year old I was pleased to have arrived and be welcomed by Ralph.

VERY comfortable beds with beautiful bedding Our front facing room had tea/coffee facilities good qualityTowels and ample heating. Stunning veiws from the Breakfast room .

We look forward to our next visit to Richmond.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smck40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ralph's lovely house has a fantastic situation with wonderful views down over Richmond, the castle, even Easby Abbey. If you take a photo off his balcony (just outside the stunning room where you eat breakfast) then it comes out looking like one of those calendar pictures you'd send to your cousins in the US. It really is that fine, and that English.

And so, indeed, is Ralph, a quintessentially charming host. He's running a lovely place here and we were very comfortable.

Others have remarked on the slightly quirky architecture ... we had the little suite with two rooms (didn't need both, it was just a nice room we were offered) and there is indeed something unusual about where its bathroom is, up a short flight of stairs and round a corner, but it's very nice when you get there. Fitting extra facilities into a nice old house like this must always be a bit of a challenge and I suspect that this is just a symptom of that - I couldn't even, from looking at the very classy exterior, work out where this would all fit in.

We broke our C2C trip by having an extra night here, giving us a very worthwhile day off in the fine town of Richmond. Frenchgate turned out to be the perfect place to do this - comfy, welcoming and a really terrific spot from which to appreciate Richmond. Ralph does excellent breakfasts but not dinner; Richmond, however, has restaurants aplenty - you won't starve. For one dinner we wandered till we found a nice place and for the other we took Ralph's recommendation, Piazza 2 - a hit!

We had some great packed lunches on our walk but the one from here was really a winner - very nice, very interesting food, all beautifully presented. You still felt looked-after ages after you'd left.

All in all we strongly recommend Frenchgate Guest House for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKSHIRE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband I arrived at Frenchgate Guest House with a friendly welcome from the owner Ralph, we had arrived early however Ralph still let us check in. Our room was beautiful, it room 4 and the views were amazing. The room was immaculate, very clean, decorated to a very high standard, there was plenty of tea/coffee and milk. We were very impressed to the attention to detail including the chocolate by the bedside. We both loved the breakfast, tasted excellent, Ralph couldn't do enough for us. You eat in the conservatory and the views whilst eating your breakfast are outstanding, perfect way to start your day. I highly recommend coming to Frenchgate Guest House, its a perfect getaway whilst being looked after by Ralph. Thank you Ralph for being the perfect host, we will definitely be returning xxxx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRANDMRSTRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 51 in Richmond
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#7 of 51 in Richmond
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchgate Guest House

Property: Frenchgate Guest House
Address: 66 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchgate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing