We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Loved Frenchgate Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frenchgate Guest House
Ranked #22 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I Loved Frenchgate Guest House”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Thank you, Ralph for your kindness, help, and for my lovely stay at Frenchgate. Richmond drew me with its castle and gateway to the Dales, but I hadn't booked there but with an extra day in my three-week travels I chose to see Richmond and took the bus and hoped for the best. Lucky for me, Frenchgate was at the top of a beautiful street of Georgian homes and recommended by the little TI in the center. My room was beautifully appointed, the bathroom superb, the breakfast delicious, and the views splendid. The dining room, designed and built from an old Solarium by Ralph, offers extraordinary views with a little terrace below and charming garden for use in good weather. All of Ralph's recommendations for sightseeing were perfect and his knowledge of history of the period, of Richmond, the Castle, Abbey and Richmond streetscape just outstanding. I love this place and hope to visit it again especially as a fine location for exploring the Dales.

Room Tip: The views from the back cannot be matched anywhere, but the whole place is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    16
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
44
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

66 Frenchgate Guest House is a must stay. The million dollar ( £ ) view is alone worth the stay but you will also enjoy a lovely bedroom and sleep like a baby. Ralph will do anything in his power to accommodate your needs and make you happy and comfortable. We have stayed here numerous times and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Richmond. It is located very conveniently to all things in Richmond. You will be served a sumptuous breakfast to your liking and set off happy, full, and well rested. A great stay and a great host!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1night, what a lovely B&B. the rooms were large & spacious, we were in room 2. It overlooked main road, but heard no noise at all, friends overlooked the gardens, this had magnificent views. The rooms had all the usual amenities TV, tea, coffee, free wifi. Lovely shower room,chested towel rail, fluffy towels ect. A hearty breakfast cereal, toast , full English. Only 5-10 mins walk down into town . All wrapped up for between £87-£95 per room (depending which room). Well worth it .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here whilst working in Richmond and chose it for the convenient location to the office. I have to say im suprised that it is not higher up the rankings on Trip Advisor as I found it very impressive.
Ralph is a super friendly and welcoming host, he recommended a great restaurant to eat in near the b&b and i felt right at home straight away there. I was in the adjoining rooms downstairs as they were both free, one was a double and one a twin with a bathroom in between the two. Both rooms were lovely, I chose to sleep in the twin room which has a window overlooking the wonderfull scenery. Decor elegant and classy with everything you would need, very comfy bed, i slept very well.
Breakfast in the gorgeous breakfast room with amazing views was perfect. I had poached eggs on toast which were cooked to perfection, there was plenty of other options available but eggs were more than enough for me.
Overall a wonderful place and I intend to stay here on a regular basis whilst working in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dol_trouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wow, what an incredible outlook from both our room and the breakfast room. Very comfortable, very friendly with good breakfast. Really enjoyed our stay and would higly recommend this B & B. Richmond itself is a delightful little old town and well worth a look.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed A one night stay in the Napoli suit in March 2014, the room facilities were excellent very clean and comfortable (definitely worth the upgrade). The hosts were very welcoming and food was excellent. Overall a wonderful romantic break will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beckimilner1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Firstly, thank you Ralph for making our anniversary weekend so special when we stayed in your beautiful home. The free room upgrade you gave us upon booking when I informed you of the occassion was an unexpected delight. "Superb" is the only way to describe the comfort and elegance of that room. But when you go into the breakfast room with the magnificent views
stretching out for miles it really does take your breath away. Next time we come to Richmond there
is only one place for us and that is 66 frenchgate.
PS thanks for printing of the walk in gunnerside it was excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJL191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 51 in Richmond
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Willance House Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 51 in Richmond
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#7 of 51 in Richmond
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchgate Guest House

Property: Frenchgate Guest House
Address: 66 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchgate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing