We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic place, would thoroughly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brompton Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brompton Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place, would thoroughly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have just returned from our holiday at Brompton Lakes and can honestly say we would not have changed anything about our stay! From the moment we arrived, we were instantly relaxed due to the stunning views across the West Lake and fantastic living accommodation. The lodge definitely had the 'wow factor' when we walked in. Great décor and extremely well equipped, the lodge certainly had a home-from-home feel about it. We were first impressed by the size of the lodge and that every area of it had a special/bespoke feel about it. Each of the 3 bedrooms were a really good size, and we really liked the open plan living space and the doors that opened out onto the decking area.

We thoroughly recommend the 'dine-in service' that is featured on the website. Liz Fairburn (Food for Thought) cooked for us on one of the nights and meal was fabulous and in our opinion, great value for money for the service and amount of food you get. We opted for the fine dining menu which was £210 for 6 people. Liz and another lady arrived about an hour beforehand and created a relaxed atmosphere as soon as they walked in. We were told to just sit back and relax and they would do all the rest, and they weren't wrong! As it was nice weather, we had canapés on the decking overlooking the lake and then went inside for the meal itself. Food was delicious, could not fault it in any way. Everything was cleaned away afterwards and the kitchen was spotless. A very special evening which only accentuated our opinion of Brompton Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
123
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here on a trip with my parents, my brother and my husband and I. Absolutely loved it! We stayed in Abbey and it was gorgeous, the attention to detail is unbelievable.
My dad spent nearly the whole first day just commenting on how nice everything was. All the kitchen units, rooms, bathroom etc was a really high specification ... gorgeous.

The fishing was a bit of a let down for the fellas, think the fish are a bit too bright. Over the full 3 days fishing they only caught one little one :-( As it rained all weekend my mum and I did absolutely nothing, and we loved every minute of it!

If you don't like bugs I wouldn't bother though, as its the countryside we had our fair share of moth and daddy long leg visitors. Doesn't bother me or my family as we're ex campers (after this trip don't think we'll be in a tent again! - Why when we can go in gorgeous cabins like this one) but my hubby who's been brought up in hotels for hotels couldn't handle it! Hilarious!!

Gorgeous ... already want to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I've just returned from a hen weekend at Brampton Lodges and cannot say enough about how gorgeous the lodges, facilities and the surroundings are.
We were welcomed to the lodge with a hamper which included a bottle of wine, fresh bread, butter, cheese, chocolate biscuits and fresh coffee.
The lodge has it's own bbq, washing machine and the cleani9ng products were all included. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOULATRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

First visit to Brompton Lakes and we were knocked out, it was brilliant!!! Other lodge owners should come and take a master class from Brompton, they have thought of everything in the lodges. We came armed with all our usual self catering items for the kitchen but everything and more was already there. We were two families with children aged 6 and 4, the site was great no kids play area but we didn't need one with the paths to explore on foot and on bike, boules, tennis, basketball, not forgetting the fish, ducks and geese that were so much fun to feed. The children also loved the river with their fishing nets. We stayed in Florence and cannot recommend it enough the weather was great on arrival but was chillier the other two days which was a shame as with the decking and views we would quite happily spent the time relaxing on the deck. The colder nights did mean we got the chance to light the fabulous log fire, yes they get hot but the lovely lady had already explained that on arrival, kids were great, looked at it but steered clear as they were told to. All in all a brilliant time we will definately be looking for an opportunity to return ...we would happily live there.......cannot reccomend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fen0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break for our first visit to Brompton Lakes and we certainly were'nt dissapointed !!! As 6 long term friends,who frequently go away for 'girlie' breaks,we have visited some very pleasing (and not so pleasing)properties.....but we have to say that this is most definitely the best yet!!! Our lodge was 'Rebecca' and everything about it was superb...we faced the evening sun..and may I say,we were well and truly blessed with beautiful weather,so that was an added bonus! You can be as lazy or as active as you wish and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. It's a very short car ride into Richmond,which is a very pretty market town...and it's definitely worth a visit to 'The White Swan'pub just before you enter Richmond....the Sunday lunch was excellent and well worth the £6.99...the meats were beautiful and tender. Anyway,back to the lodges,they are designed to offer you plenty of privacy but if sitting on your veranda,you can watch the activities of your neighbours.The wild life is lovely and we were lucky enough to see 11 new born ducks visit us daily with their mum to be fed..so sweet! Excellent place to visit...the previous reviews also say it all. Our advice...you have to go there!!!! But......don't tell too many people....it's a little piece of paradise!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurse4cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

With this being our second stay at Brompton, we were hoping that everything was going to be as good as before...
Brompton Lakes didn't disappoint us, everything was brilliant, if not better! We stayed in Isabella this time and loved the peace and tranquillity of where she is situated. The lodge was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The under floor heating and the log burner kept us all warm and cosy after some very long walks in the snow, all in all another great stay...so great in fact we have just booked again for August!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Having stayed at Brompton in January last year we wondered if the cleanliness would still be the same one year later.... The whole group thought so , you would think that they had just been opened. One of the group could not attend last year and she was so impressed with the cleanliness. The oven which we used every day friday to sunday was spotless which is hard when they no doubt get abused on a regular basis. I would like to think that we left he place almost as we found it and this is partly to do with the fact that it is so immaculate when you arrive..... However enough of the cleanliness aspect. We are a group of ten women who come to Brompton to chill out, eat ,drink and play games around the fire. Brompton is perfect for this on a chilly January day. We get taxis into Richmond for a rake around in the fresh air and to buy tea for Saturday then its back to the warm fire.
AS ever loads of red hot water, fluffy white towels, logs for the stove, great welcome pack . We stayed in Florence and Jules this time around spending most of our time in the larger cabin Florence. Even with 10 persons eating and drinking together you never feel you are on top of each other. It is so peaceful at night and you hear nothing leading to 10 very good sleeps on both nights.
Thanks again Brompton Lakes for a great stay....Wouldn't hesitate to book again x

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
2.1 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4.5 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Houndgate Townhouse
Houndgate Townhouse
#7 of 21 in Darlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
3.4 mi away
Natural Retreats Yorkshire Dales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Lakes

Property: Brompton Lakes
Address: Brompton Lakes | Easby, Richmond DL10 7EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brompton Lakes is an exclusive development of luxury eco lodges situated just two miles from the historic market town of Richmond on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Set in 26 acres of privately owned land, the 5-star lodges are designed to complement the natural features of this stunning lakeside location, the award-winning lodges are distinctive and contemporary and are built on the shores of two lakes, surrounded by woodland and open countryside.Hot-tubs, tennis court, Scandinavian BBQ house, lake and river fishing and mountain bikes all exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brompton Lakes Hotel Richmond
Brompton Lakes Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing