We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brompton Lakes
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middleton Lodge(Richmond)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
250
32
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
32
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq houseswans and duckswelcome packhot tublog burnermountain bikesentire sitebeautiful lodgeeverything you could possibly needthought of everythinglodge was spotlessly cleantranquil surroundingswashing powderdishwasher tabletstea towelsopen planhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at Brompton Lakes many, many times over the last few years. We first came when just one lake had lodges around it and it has gone from strength to strength. The quality of furnishings and cleanliness has not faded over the years. We have stayed in five different lodges and each one has it's own characteristics making it special. All in all this is far better than anywhere we have stayed in the UK and overseas. The only thing the staff can't do is ensure the weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review and for choosing Brompton Lakes, it means a lot to us when people keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have stayed in these lodges twice now, and plan to return annually for a long weekend. The lodges themselves are superb. We have stayed in both types (there are two lodge layouts), both of which are beautifully designed, furnished and decorated. The exteriors are stunning and blend into the well landscaped site. Despite the fact that there are a lot of lodges in relatively close proximity to each other, each lodge has a sense of seclusion due to clever outlooks, and use of greenery. Each lodge has its own character and the interior design is to a very high standard of comfort and uniqueness.

The lodges are very well appointed in terms of cutlery, crockery, etc. with plenty of everything, and all of it good quality. The log burners are stylish and make a very pretty feature in the corner of the room. Bedrooms are not particularly big, but the beds are large and very comfy. Bathrooms are modern and functional, although I have had some trouble with the showers - they can be very stiff to turn on and off. We could also have done with a few more towels; my husband and I found one hand towel and one bath towel on our bed, which isn't really enough for two people.

The lodges have beautiful, big balconies which overlook the lake. The views are beautiful and the light changes throughout the day. The lakes have plenty of fish and ducks. The provision of a BBQ for each lodge is perfect for summer. The only thing we felt was missing was a sun lounger - there wasn't anywhere you could lie back and enjoy the sunshine.

As well as the lodges themselves, the site in general is beautiful and has plenty to do - a nice walk round the lakes and along the river, a well maintained modern tennis court (although the provided racquets have seen better days), a games field, and a gorgeous Scandinavian BBQ house with animal furs decking the benches.

A big plus for us is that the lodges take dogs. There aren't many places this nice where you can bring your dogs, and our family has a lot so this was a big bonus.

I can't really comment on the service because we didn't see much of the staff but all seemed fine. My one complaint is that I do think they are a bit overpriced. However nice, up to almost £1500 a week seems excessive for a self catering lodge.

Room Tip: If you have young children or people who like an early night go for one of the Type A lodges - the sleeping areas further away from the living areas in this type.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhienne40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - we're so pleased that you enjoy your visits to Brompton Lakes so much.
We supply one bath and one hand towel per person, plus we put one hand towel in each bathroom and two bath mats per bathroom and are always happy to provide extra on request. I'm sorry that you didn't have the right number on your bed on your last visit.
Thank you for your comments about the price of a break at Brompton Lakes - a week-long stay starts at £737, the most expensive week costs £1244. We believe this represents good value for a standard of accommodation rarely seen in this sector. And, as regular visitors, you will soon be entitled to a loyalty card where you can receive a 10% discount from your 4th visit onwards as well as a host of other benefits and discounts from local businesses.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Second time at Brompton Lakes. Loved it both times. We went back in a bigger group as enjoyed it last year. Great for BBQS and group weekends away. Lodges are clean and very pretty. Perfect location. Suggestions we would make are hot tub and outdoor heater.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crispysunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks for coming back to Brompton Lakes - I'm glad that it lived up to your expectations. If you stay again you will entitled to one of our loyalty cards to get 10% your 4th and subsequent visits as well as other benefits. Thanks too for your suggestions - with regard to hot tubs, there may be news to come. Watch this space...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here the last weekend in August 5 couples in two lodges, the accommodation is simply stunning, I could have moved in! The surroundings are beautiful and tranquil.
On the Friday evening we hired the BBQ house which was absolutely fab, great evening and would highly recommend this.
On Saturday we had treatments in our lodges we where will completely relaxed by the end of the day! On the Saturday we hired the plantation room and had a chef in to cook for us, a little extravagant but it was a special occasion, lovely food and a wonderful evening.
On the Sunday we took a taxi into Richmond and visited a few of the local bars.

Overall superb place and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing us and for recommending the BBQ house - we love it! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Brompton lakes for a long weekend at the end of August 2013.What can I say it was one of the lovliest places we have been.The lodges are fantastic with everything you could need to self cater.It is very peaceful and all we could hear were the ducks,which our children enjoyed feeding every mornng.If you want to get away from it all and relax in lovely surroundings this is the place to do it.We took my elderly mother with us and she is bad on her feet,so this was perfect as there were no steps and she was very comfortable in her master bedroom with the biggest bed she has ever slept in .

Room Tip: We stayed in Jasper which was great as there was no-one directly in front of us,and we couldn't really see the people next to us.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you! I'm really glad that you all enjoyed the peace and relaxation and hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews