We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Fire”
Review of Brompton Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brompton Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at Brompton Lakes last week for the first time and found it to be everything we expected from the reviews here. The lodge was spacious and welcoming and had an unusual fire which was highly efficient and we made us of every night. Tranquil and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you made good use of the fire - they really come into their own at this time of year and make the lodges extra cosy. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Brompton Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We, (hubby and me) stayed in the lodge called LOLA which is one of the type B lodges and probably the most private one. The site is quite lovely and very peaceful, with only the wildlife for company. Inside the lodge, the bathrooms and kitchen are contemporary and well stocked with everything you need, the furniture is of good quality and the beds very comfortable. I particularly liked the wall of glass overlooking the deck and the lake beyond. I did however have issues with the heating, because the lodges are Eco friendly ( and I'm not) the heating is provided by a heat pump that gets its energy from the lake, but it takes 4/6 hours for any adjustment to take effect, so we had to have the doors and windows open all the time because it was so hot. We did mention this at reception and maintenance attended to the pump but it made little difference in the time we were there. I personally think that a couple of sun loungers would be a welcome addition to the outside deck too ( and a hot tub).

Room Tip: LOLA is the most private lodge.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazy-Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi, thanks for your lovely review and I'm glad that you enjoyed the peace and relaxation at Brompton Lakes.

I'm sorry about the heater problem in your lodge - we couldn't find anything significant wrong when we checked it while you were here and we thought it may be partly due to the unusually warm weather for this time of year. However, we checked the heat pump again after you left and I'm afraid there was a problem with a faulty sensor (which wasn't possible to find without pulling everything apart, which we hadn't wanted to do while you were staying). I'm really sorry that it impacted on an otherwise great short break and I hope that you will come back soon to enjoy the perfect Brompton Lakes experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in the stunning Imogen lodge with family. The lodge was spacious, immaculate and has everything you need. A nice touch with complimentary basket of goodies. My 1 year old son loved feeding the ducks. The town of Richmond is nearby which is worth a visit. The Heifer in Scorton is lovely for food. Would definitely come back here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Pwick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Imogen. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at Brompton Lakes many, many times over the last few years. We first came when just one lake had lodges around it and it has gone from strength to strength. The quality of furnishings and cleanliness has not faded over the years. We have stayed in five different lodges and each one has it's own characteristics making it special. All in all this is far better than anywhere we have stayed in the UK and overseas. The only thing the staff can't do is ensure the weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review and for choosing Brompton Lakes, it means a lot to us when people keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have stayed in these lodges twice now, and plan to return annually for a long weekend. The lodges themselves are superb. We have stayed in both types (there are two lodge layouts), both of which are beautifully designed, furnished and decorated. The exteriors are stunning and blend into the well landscaped site. Despite the fact that there are a lot of lodges in relatively close proximity to each other, each lodge has a sense of seclusion due to clever outlooks, and use of greenery. Each lodge has its own character and the interior design is to a very high standard of comfort and uniqueness.

The lodges are very well appointed in terms of cutlery, crockery, etc. with plenty of everything, and all of it good quality. The log burners are stylish and make a very pretty feature in the corner of the room. Bedrooms are not particularly big, but the beds are large and very comfy. Bathrooms are modern and functional, although I have had some trouble with the showers - they can be very stiff to turn on and off. We could also have done with a few more towels; my husband and I found one hand towel and one bath towel on our bed, which isn't really enough for two people.

The lodges have beautiful, big balconies which overlook the lake. The views are beautiful and the light changes throughout the day. The lakes have plenty of fish and ducks. The provision of a BBQ for each lodge is perfect for summer. The only thing we felt was missing was a sun lounger - there wasn't anywhere you could lie back and enjoy the sunshine.

As well as the lodges themselves, the site in general is beautiful and has plenty to do - a nice walk round the lakes and along the river, a well maintained modern tennis court (although the provided racquets have seen better days), a games field, and a gorgeous Scandinavian BBQ house with animal furs decking the benches.

A big plus for us is that the lodges take dogs. There aren't many places this nice where you can bring your dogs, and our family has a lot so this was a big bonus.

I can't really comment on the service because we didn't see much of the staff but all seemed fine. My one complaint is that I do think they are a bit overpriced. However nice, up to almost £1500 a week seems excessive for a self catering lodge.

Room Tip: If you have young children or people who like an early night go for one of the Type A lodges - the s...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhienne40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - we're so pleased that you enjoy your visits to Brompton Lakes so much.
We supply one bath and one hand towel per person, plus we put one hand towel in each bathroom and two bath mats per bathroom and are always happy to provide extra on request. I'm sorry that you didn't have the right number on your bed on your last visit.
Thank you for your comments about the price of a break at Brompton Lakes - a week-long stay starts at £737, the most expensive week costs £1244. We believe this represents good value for a standard of accommodation rarely seen in this sector. And, as regular visitors, you will soon be entitled to a loyalty card where you can receive a 10% discount from your 4th visit onwards as well as a host of other benefits and discounts from local businesses.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Second time at Brompton Lakes. Loved it both times. We went back in a bigger group as enjoyed it last year. Great for BBQS and group weekends away. Lodges are clean and very pretty. Perfect location. Suggestions we would make are hot tub and outdoor heater.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crispysunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks for coming back to Brompton Lakes - I'm glad that it lived up to your expectations. If you stay again you will entitled to one of our loyalty cards to get 10% your 4th and subsequent visits as well as other benefits. Thanks too for your suggestions - with regard to hot tubs, there may be news to come. Watch this space...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here the last weekend in August 5 couples in two lodges, the accommodation is simply stunning, I could have moved in! The surroundings are beautiful and tranquil.
On the Friday evening we hired the BBQ house which was absolutely fab, great evening and would highly recommend this.
On Saturday we had treatments in our lodges we where will completely relaxed by the end of the day! On the Saturday we hired the plantation room and had a chef in to cook for us, a little extravagant but it was a special occasion, lovely food and a wonderful evening.
On the Sunday we took a taxi into Richmond and visited a few of the local bars.

Overall superb place and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing us and for recommending the BBQ house - we love it! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
2.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
8.2 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
798 reviews
4.5 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Lakes

Address: Brompton Lakes | Easby, Richmond DL10 7EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brompton Lakes is an exclusive development of luxury eco lodges situated just two miles from the historic market town of Richmond on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Set in 26 acres of privately owned land, the 5-star lodges are designed to complement the natural features of this stunning lakeside location, the award-winning lodges are distinctive and contemporary and are built on the shores of two lakes, surrounded by woodland and open countryside.Hot-tubs, tennis court, Scandinavian BBQ house, lake and river fishing and mountain bikes all exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brompton Lakes Hotel Richmond
Brompton Lakes Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing