We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, quality retreat!”
Review of Brompton Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brompton Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to Brompton Lakes and we love it. It's a gem. Fabulous lodges (Isabella) just pure quality. Attention to detail throughout the lodge and surrounding landscape. A fantastic find which is now on our annual calendar! Dog friendly as well!! Brilliant!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank bigdogharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you so much for all your terrific comments. Look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We, along with two good friends, have just come back from a few lovely days at Brompton Lakes. This was our second visit this year and was just as good as the first. The site team are so very pleasant and helpful with nothing being too much trouble.

Following a very efficient check-in (and a friendly chat), we were shown to our luxury lodge where a small food hamper of the essentials, coffee, wine and local cheese awaited us. This gesture is greatly appreciated and a really nice way to start the break.

The spacious lodge was spotless, extremely well appointed, warm and are very welcoming – each lodge is decorated slightly differently from each other which provides character. The large area of decking, overlooked by large glass windows and sliding doors is a great place to sit, relax and watch the passing wildlife.

Without hesitation, I would recommend Brompton Lakes to anyone who wants to wind down and enjoy a few days of peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwanderer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thanks for your lovely review. It was great to see you back at Brompton Lakes and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed in lodge jules at the end of september when we booked as a surprise join our family who were also staying there as they were getting married in richmond.
jules is a beautiful lodge in a lovely position set back from the lake, and easy access with parking outside.
we could not fault or complain about anything at all, the staff were very welcoming, the hamper is also a lovely gesture.
we are planning on returning spring next year. Thank you everyone at bromton lakes for a lovely memorable family wedding weekend. Our brother in law even caught a fish before he left for the registry office!

Room Tip: Prefer the layout of lodge style a. This style gives sense of more space when you have a toddler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 258sunny-dayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thanks for your lovely review. We love it when people stay here for weddings and so pleased that it went so well for your sister and brother-in-law. Look forward to welcoming you back in Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at Brompton Lakes last week for the first time and found it to be everything we expected from the reviews here. The lodge was spacious and welcoming and had an unusual fire which was highly efficient and we made us of every night. Tranquil and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you made good use of the fire - they really come into their own at this time of year and make the lodges extra cosy. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We, (hubby and me) stayed in the lodge called LOLA which is one of the type B lodges and probably the most private one. The site is quite lovely and very peaceful, with only the wildlife for company. Inside the lodge, the bathrooms and kitchen are contemporary and well stocked with everything you need, the furniture is of good quality and the beds very comfortable. I particularly liked the wall of glass overlooking the deck and the lake beyond. I did however have issues with the heating, because the lodges are Eco friendly ( and I'm not) the heating is provided by a heat pump that gets its energy from the lake, but it takes 4/6 hours for any adjustment to take effect, so we had to have the doors and windows open all the time because it was so hot. We did mention this at reception and maintenance attended to the pump but it made little difference in the time we were there. I personally think that a couple of sun loungers would be a welcome addition to the outside deck too ( and a hot tub).

Room Tip: LOLA is the most private lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazy-Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi, thanks for your lovely review and I'm glad that you enjoyed the peace and relaxation at Brompton Lakes.

I'm sorry about the heater problem in your lodge - we couldn't find anything significant wrong when we checked it while you were here and we thought it may be partly due to the unusually warm weather for this time of year. However, we checked the heat pump again after you left and I'm afraid there was a problem with a faulty sensor (which wasn't possible to find without pulling everything apart, which we hadn't wanted to do while you were staying). I'm really sorry that it impacted on an otherwise great short break and I hope that you will come back soon to enjoy the perfect Brompton Lakes experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in the stunning Imogen lodge with family. The lodge was spacious, immaculate and has everything you need. A nice touch with complimentary basket of goodies. My 1 year old son loved feeding the ducks. The town of Richmond is nearby which is worth a visit. The Heifer in Scorton is lovely for food. Would definitely come back here again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Pwick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Imogen. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at Brompton Lakes many, many times over the last few years. We first came when just one lake had lodges around it and it has gone from strength to strength. The quality of furnishings and cleanliness has not faded over the years. We have stayed in five different lodges and each one has it's own characteristics making it special. All in all this is far better than anywhere we have stayed in the UK and overseas. The only thing the staff can't do is ensure the weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review and for choosing Brompton Lakes, it means a lot to us when people keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
2.0 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
177 reviews
2.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
398 reviews
10.2 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Lakes

Address: Brompton Lakes | Easby, Richmond DL10 7EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Richmond
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brompton Lakes is an exclusive development of luxury eco lodges situated just two miles from the historic market town of Richmond on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Set in 26 acres of privately owned land, the 5-star lodges are designed to complement the natural features of this stunning lakeside location, the award-winning lodges are distinctive and contemporary and are built on the shores of two lakes, surrounded by woodland and open countryside.Hot-tubs, tennis court, Scandinavian BBQ house, lake and river fishing and mountain bikes all exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brompton Lakes Hotel Richmond
Brompton Lakes Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing