We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“annoying to say the least.”

Barker's Fish & Chips
Ranked #49 of 119 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“annoying to say the least.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

terrible staff, im sure the woman that served me had no clue what she was doing. id ordered a fish cake and chips but was in a rush as i had to be at work 15minutes after going in. she said to me that there were no fishcakes ready so id have to wait about 10 minutes for one, to which i replied that i no longer wanted the fish cake and i just wanted the chips. she stood there and looked at me then watched the cook put the fish cake into the fryer and told me that i have to wait for it now as she has just put it on to cook. i would have walked out had i not already paid. also the staff there never look hygenic, and i do not want to be offensive and i understand they work in a greasy environment but with some of the staff there their clothing is covered in food and muck and they just look generally dirty. i will never be going back as i do not wish to be ignored by idiotic staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shorty2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    39
    12
    9
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Vinuela, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Barkers Chippy”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I should really have written this review before the Fox Hall Inn review, however....
We visited Richmond on a market day and it was really busy. We decided to have lunch and our companions suggested Barkers as they had eaten there before. There was a bit of a queue for a table and the staff were a little overwhelmed and service was a bit slow....
Cod and chips, haddock and chips, mushy peas were all excellent. My cod was as good as I've had anywhere, steaming white flakes of meat covered in a really tasty crispy batter. Drool!
We will go again but not on a market day though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“When will they get this place right,”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My 3rd visit,I had NO option as friends insisted on getting a takeaway from here, I wish I had gone over the road to the castle chippy,White soggy chips,mushy grey fish and a pot of pea juice believed to be mushy peas,They cash in on tourists time and time again,I took my dismal food back this time and left it on the counter,sorry Barkers but customers do count,and better than your staff..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“was ok”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

average was ok staff not really on the ball but enjoyed it all the same fish cooked lovely a nice surprise for family

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pgppg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor quality and slow service”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This does not do what it says on the tin. Went with 3 other people, waited about half an hour for our food which then turned up cold. This place was not even busy. Chips were the worst I ever had in the UK. So bad we voted with our feet and left half of our food. You wouldn't expected this standard from a Fish and Chip shop in a town like this. Advice - give it a miss.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevwoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barker's Fish & Chips also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Barker's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing