We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pot Luck Stop Off”
Review of A66 Motel

A66 Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A66 Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Stirling
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pot Luck Stop Off”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stopped off here on the way home. We were intending to eat until we saw the price of their food. £7.25 for a prawn baguette, now I know prawns aren't cheap but come on!!! The pie was priced at £10.95, extortionate.
We ended up having just a drink. This was quite an acceptable price and my coffee came in a lovely big pot with enough coffee for 3 cups and was proper filter coffee too.
would stop again for the coffee but not to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkinwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limefitt Park
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just called in on our way to our lodge (www.dickenslodge.co.uk), pouring with rain, with three woofers and we were made to feel very welcome, even guided towards a seat by the lovely coal fire blazing away.
The Woofers lay quietly in front of the fire, whilst we ate and drank our lunch, cheese and onion sarnie plus Americano coffee and ham egg and chips with orange juice.
The chips were very scrummy.
Thank you!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dickenslodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Decided to stop here on way home from York to Scotland. Board above roaring fire gave us a great choice of dishes to choose from. My good lady opted for the pate' and i chose a delicious chicken burger in breadcrumbs with their fabulous home made chips. Staff were friendly and helpful. There seemed to be a few locals dining there as they were on first name terms with the owner. Would drop in again if i was down that way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Called in for Sunday Lunch while out with my (adult) family.
Looked quite good from the road but looks can be deceiving.
The bar/restaurant area was clean and tidy with polished wood furnishings but no atmosphere.
We all had the Sunday Roast.
One of our party has a smaller appetite so the choice of portion size was a good idea.
Choice of Beef or Turkey.
I ordered roast beef which was dry, overcooked and curling at the edges. It came with a reasonable portion of vegetables served separately as you would expect but the quality left much to be desired.
The roast turkey was similarly overlooked and dry.
Disappointed by the poor quality we decided to give the dessert a miss.
I guess we should have returned the food but instead decided to eat what we could and never go back.
Price for the meals a little above average for good food which this certainly was not.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Hutton Magna, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Went for a Sunday lunch with friend and family all I can say is I don't know why any one would want to brag about those Yorkshire puddings, all I can say is stodge. ( very victoria sponge like) the boiled potatoes, where impossible to even cut, it took me back to school dinners and if I had to choose I think it would have to be the school dinners, we did inform staff which made us feel a tad guilty as staff where very good & pleasant, we then ordered dessert which I have to say were very nice but a tad expensive, after complaint we were offered a refund of half of our deserts which I found a bit strange ???? But better then nothing, but meal still very expensive for what it was, even with discount. a experience a don't want to & will not be repeating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandaburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed here as a stopover on the way to Scotland. Didn't expect the lap of luxury and it wasn't but it was clean, comfy, warm and the staff couldn't have been nicer. I had a bar meal which was cooked to perfection and the bar was one of those places where you could sit beside the log burner and chill with a few pints. A perfect place to break a journey, Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Love this place ! Lovely rooms, lovely food & lovely people - what more do you want ? I use this place as a base during a regular business trip - it is conveniently situated for the NE being only 10 mins from the A1 Scotch Corner. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
7.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
127 reviews
7.3 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A66 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A66 Motel

Property: A66 Motel
Address: Smallways, Richmond DL11 7QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your A66 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A66 Motel Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing